Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-01-2013, 09:59 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
wow what a title lol

Before i had a cheapo sony (RIP) i recently upgraded to a Panasonic AG-1980P and it finally showed up. Remote is here along with the service and other manual. Now that being said i'd like to switch to svideo as before i was capturing with composite and meh I don't want to do things half ass or "good enough" I'd rather take the steps to do it right and correct. I'm missing one piece to my work flow now (external TCB) so I'd like to work out all the kinks before I drop my income tax check on a TCB.

My "set up" is fairly straight forward...this was it before i got the panasonic

Sony VCR
Yellow RCA plugged into a Vidicraft Guard Stabilizer which is then plugged into my Vidicraft det-300 Detailer III and finally into the ATI 600 USB
White and Red RCAs plugged into my Behringer Xenyx 1002-B (with an adapter) which is then plugged into my ATI 600 USB

lots of rcas as you can see but with the panasonic I can record via rca but i'd rather use svideo. i know svideo doesn't carry audio just video. so how would I plug it into my Vidicraft Guard Stabilizer and the other nonsense after that? I assume an adapter isn't going to give me the results i'm looking for.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-02-2013, 12:35 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,334
Thanked 644 Times in 454 Posts
Changed the post title some.

Kudos on not wanting to be just "good enough" (code word for being accepting of crap).

The audio is always RCA, so let's sideline that. That's the red/white wires.

The video should all be s-video. Swapping back and forth between s-video and composite is just as bad as 100% composite. Composite was yellow. Now you don't use yellow. Use the black s-video cable, using s-video connections.

RCA = audio
composite = video
I know a lot of people use them interchangeably, but that's wrong, and why folks get confused.

Question is, does all your video hardware have s-video connection?

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: DeeSeven (08-02-2013)
  #3  
08-02-2013, 06:59 AM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
thanks for the title adjustment I wasn't sure how to word it in such a way without it looking like a paragraph

haha exactly! I've been acceptable crap and i'm tired of it

and that is where my problem lies...none of my video hardware have an s-video connection they're all rca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-02-2013, 07:54 AM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
the Ag-1980 and the ATI600USB both have S-Video

ditch the vidicraft and Behringer - you dont need them
instead buy a Datavideo TBC-1000

AG-1980 -> TBC-1000 -> ATI600USB - should be all you need
Reply With Quote
The following users thank volksjager for this useful post: DeeSeven (08-02-2013)
  #5  
08-02-2013, 10:10 AM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
thanks volksjager I plan on doing that next income tax season ..I was wondering tho with the TBC-1000 is there still a point to have the guard stabilizer?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-02-2013, 12:27 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,319
Thanked 372 Times in 341 Posts
The Behringer Xenyx 1002-B is for audio. Don't remove it.
It's exactly what we suggest for pre-processing in the chain. It's RCA audio only, it's not connected to the video.

VIDEO = VCR > TBC > optional proc amp > optional detailer (as needed only) > capture card
AUDIO = VCR > audio mixer (the Behringer) > capture card

That's one of our setups exactly.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: DeeSeven (08-02-2013)
  #7  
08-02-2013, 03:22 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
thanks kpmedia I assume you guys use all svideo cables as well?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-02-2013, 06:42 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,319
Thanked 372 Times in 341 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeSeven View Post
thanks kpmedia I assume you guys use all svideo cables as well?
Yep.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: DeeSeven (08-02-2013)
  #9  
08-02-2013, 06:51 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
alright one more question (for now )

is the VIDICRAFT Vidimate VDM-200 better/an upgrade then/from the Vidicraft det-300 Detailer III ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
08-02-2013, 07:15 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,319
Thanked 372 Times in 341 Posts
The VDM-300S is best -- it has s-video. I think the other are composite only.

Here's a related post from this site, from several years ago: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...html#post13737
Yes, it's still accurate. Has some more details.

But again, the 300S is ideal.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: DeeSeven (08-02-2013)
  #11  
08-02-2013, 07:17 PM
DeeSeven DeeSeven is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 185
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
thanks !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restore VHS with DVD recorder or computer? best method? cc4npg Project Planning, Workflows 13 07-30-2011 04:17 PM
[Introduction] Hot in the early 2000s, but confused now Tuco Project Planning, Workflows 9 04-05-2011 08:56 PM
Confused about ATI AIW drivers & MMC versions SmokinA Capture, Record, Transfer 5 01-25-2011 10:37 AM
VHS to DivX ... totally confused... fatboy123 Capture, Record, Transfer 8 03-22-2010 09:59 PM
REGION-ally Confused fortunec00kie Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 8 02-08-2006 08:38 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM