Go Back    Forum > Digital Publishing / Web Sites > Web Hosting

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-02-2012, 07:31 PM
Free Member

I am new at this and may need some hand holding. I plan on purchasing and park some domain name for my kids, while they’re still available and for their future use. I also plan on purchasing some domains names for my personal use, to be used now and others in the future.

From what I read namecheap.com is a good place to purchase and/or park the domains. They seem to have good overall prices; however, I see these domain sales at godaddy.com and other places.

Is it an OK practice to purchase domain names were ever you can find the best price and transfer them to namecheap.com so they can be managed by a single company?

And if so, will a multi-year contract purchase, say 10 years at godaddy.com; will the full 10 year contract transfer to namecheap.com?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-02-2012, 08:29 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

I wanted to reply to this question as quickly as possible, to save you from making a grave mistake!

Should I use Godaddy? --

When you buy a new domain, you're generally blocked from transferring it to another registrar for 60 days.

So you'll be under the control of a potentially problematic company for several months, minimum. And then there's always the hassles associated with moving away from them, as some make the outbound transfer process a hellish time-consuming nightmare, with Godaddy being the most infamous of all registrars in that regards. Tucows and Network Solutions are the other big well-known problem registrars.

Trusting Godaddy long-term with your domain is pretty much gambling, as they have very anti-consumer policies in regards to everything they do (see also: SOPA). At least 99%+ of their support desk responds by robotic copy/paste from scripts, so you'll go in circles, often being referred to "other departments" that re-refer you elsewhere. It's a loop of stupidity.