Quantcast Symbols on DC power supplies? Square inside a square? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Digital Devices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-26-2012, 06:57 AM
Jurgeaustin Jurgeaustin is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,
We can find a symbol of a square inside another square and I have seen it on several DC Power Supplies and cannot figure out what it means. I want to know whether it is an international symbol from the FCC.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-27-2012, 03:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,689
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,616 Posts
The FCC is the federal communications commission, and only applies to the United States.
Beyond that, the FCC only regulates communication technology, and will not really be found in relation to power supplies.

Can you attach a sample image of this logo to the forum?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-27-2012, 05:12 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,300
Thanked 366 Times in 338 Posts
By coincidence, I was just now throwing away a dead power adapter from a D-Link gigabit network switch, and noticed what appeared to be square inside of another square amongst the grouping of logos! Attached are images.

And like you, I have absolutely no idea what that logo means.


squarelogo-dlinkswitch.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


The label is very, very tiny -- smaller than a quarter (USD 25-cent coin).
I took these with my tripod-mounted Nikon D3s in the studio real quick. I couldn't read it even with a handheld magnifying glass.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-02-2012, 02:59 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,100
Thanked 344 Times in 282 Posts
The power brick for my Canon camcorder has the double box on it with the text "DOUBLE INSULATED" next to it. A quick search confirmed that is what the symbol indicates, specifically that it is a "Class II" device.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appliance_classes
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: kpmedia (07-03-2012)
  #5  
07-03-2012, 05:59 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,300
Thanked 366 Times in 338 Posts
Thanks.

Quote:
A Class II or double insulated electrical appliance is one which has been designed in such a way that it does not require a safety connection to electrical earth (ground).

The basic requirement is that no single failure can result in dangerous voltage becoming exposed so that it might cause an electric shock and that this is achieved without relying on an earthed metal casing. This is usually achieved at least in part by having two layers of insulating material surrounding live parts or by using reinforced insulation.

In Europe, a double insulated appliance must be labelled Class II, double insulated, or bear the double insulation symbol (a square inside another square).

See also: Double switching

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elite Video BVP+ Cable Detached Inside Unit JasonCA Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-01-2012 05:21 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM