Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-07-2011, 02:03 AM
Free Member

is it worth getting power surge protectors?
like this one (Belkin SurgeMaster) or similar.

UK homes have a main circuit breaker.
and hopefully that will take care of most surges/spikes coming from the power distributor company.

but i'm a bit cautious.
and i'd like to protect my tv, computer etc from surges/spikes.

this is what i think MAY happen when there is a surge/spike... most of the surge/spike "wave" will be caught at the main circuit breaker board. the device should switch/break off the connection.

however, could some of the surge/spike "wave" get past the cicuit breaker? so this part surge/spike could end up hitting your electrical device?

i'm not an expert.
it is just a feeling i have.
i'm sure someone on this forum will set me straight!

so are power surges worth getting?
and if so, which make/model/type is worth getting?

cheers.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-07-2011, 10:10 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

Quote:
is it worth getting power surge protectors?
A surge protector is better than nothing -- but only marginally so. At best, it will fry itself to prevent loss of connected devices. But even that doesn't really work, in my experience.

The worst electrical action for a computer or high-end electronics devices (HDTVs, optical disc players, etc) is NOT surges, but rather a sudden loss of power. Or "false starts" where the power turns on and off a few times, such as due to storms or electrical grid failures.

Quote:
UK homes have a main circuit breaker.
and hopefully that will take care of most surges/spikes coming from the power distributor company.
Probably.

Quote:
and i'd like to protect my tv, computer etc