Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-18-2020, 01:12 AM
Free Member

Hello!

I have been collecting rare and weird VHS tapes for over 20 years, almost entirely from the 1980’s. I was obsessed around the time the independent video stores went out of business, and my collection ballooned to around 2500 tapes, a large number of them now rare and out of print. After I got married and started a family, my collection made its way slowly into boxes to sit in a series of basements and storage units until finally coming to rest in our current home.

I’ve decided to begin finally selling my more valuable tapes and so, I’ve been brought out the old gear (Sharp XA-905 Professional Series) and started testing. Rewinding, fast forwarding, and generally beating around these tapes for the afternoon has been shocking in just how unbelievably dirty they are inside. I’ve found little piles of dust around the tape path inside the machine, I’ve cleaned black dots off the head, the tapes even look dirty inside the cassette. I can see dust and dirt on the tape as it plays. The majority of these tapes haven’t been played through in 20 years, and many haven’t been played in 35 years, being that no one with any sense would watch the film anyway. While the equipment is getting dirty very fast, after some kicking around most of these tapes are playing quite well in three different VCRs, although a couple tapes have been rejected and don’t seem to play anymore.

So here is my challenge: what can be done to improve this process? I can clean the surfaces that get dirty inside the machine, I can vacuum out dust, but is there any folk wisdom or tips from old pros that could help me? Is there conventional wisdom about playing old tapes that haven’t been played for a long time?