Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-31-2024, 09:42 AM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 100
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have been using the DataVideo TBC-3000 for a while now, and for the most part it has been great. But it keeps having this recurring issue which introduces lines across the picture (most notably when something moves across the screen) It is very annoying, especially when i notice it on something i captured a while ago, then i have to go find the tape among hundreds, recapture that part then splice it in. This isn't ideal, so is there anyway to fix this issue?

Also a lesser issue is when i capture in full 720x576, the picture shifts and cuts off a slight portion on the right hand side. I have to capture at 704x576, just so the picture stays centre and doesn't cut anything off.

Here's some examples of the lines issue.









Attached Images
File Type: png vlcsnap-2024-01-18-15h42m30s141.png (659.5 KB, 44 downloads)
File Type: png vlcsnap-2024-01-18-15h46m19s786.png (763.3 KB, 45 downloads)
File Type: png vlcsnap-2024-01-31-15h18m03s110.png (675.8 KB, 43 downloads)
File Type: png vlcsnap-2023-01-04-06h46m41s805.png (556.8 KB, 45 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-09-2024, 03:04 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,338
Thanked 2,428 Times in 2,064 Posts
I now see this on one of my own TBC-3000 units.

I've had to set it to the side, use a different TBC. No idea yet.

I've now had two DataVideo TBC-3000s fail in the past year, and read about many more.

The DataVideos are starting to have brand-wide failures. We have TBC-1000 mostly figured out, thus also TBC-100. The 3000 shares components with all other models. So not good at all. Mass failures are probably eminent, as it was/is with TBC-1000, and was/is with AG-1980/1970 (and other Panasonic decks) before it.

Stay tuned. I'm looking into it with others.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-10-2024, 12:32 PM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 100
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Ah so it seems to be a wider issue with these units. I suppose age catches up with it eventually.

So even the TBC-100 is having similar issues? I suppose at this stage the best TBC to use would be the green box AVToolbox AVT-8710?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-10-2024, 04:22 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,338
Thanked 2,428 Times in 2,064 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Tape View Post
Ah so it seems to be a wider issue with these units. I suppose age catches up with it eventually.
You're probably as relieved to find another person with this exact issue as I was.

I knew of other TBC-3000 issues, but I had not come across anybody else with this weird issue until now. For troubleshooting, are you opposed to send that unit somewhere? Now that we have two problem units, it will help trace.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-10-2024, 07:19 PM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 100
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Possibly, though not sure i'd be comfortable with sending something overseas that is now worth more than anything else in my room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-10-2024, 09:16 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,338
Thanked 2,428 Times in 2,064 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Tape View Post
Possibly, though not sure i'd be comfortable with sending something overseas that is now worth more than anything else in my room
If it makes you feel better, this is something I need help with myself. So I'll be shipping mine as well.

The key to shipment is quality of the box(es) and packing materials, and proper packing of the box(es). I write "(es)" because this needs to be double boxed, or sent in a very secure heavy-duty doubl/triple corrugated box. For these exact TBCs, sent alone, good large bubble wrap and good foam peanuts are required.

Heavy PSU not needed, just the black box itself.

UPS, signature required, insured. Not cheap boat rate with a postal service.

This isn't something I'm doing tomorrow, not something quick, so plenty of time here. Just keep on the lookout for a good box (or boxes), and proper packing materials. Set them aside for when the day does come. Within next 3-4 months.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-11-2024, 07:42 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,668
Thanked 443 Times in 380 Posts
I've seen this happen with my TBC-3000 as well back when I used it a bit, though since it crops too much of the right of the image and has a noise pattern if the brightness isn't turned down a notch I don't really use it anymore so I don't know how frequent it is.

If you are shipping yours somewhere, feel free to let us know if whoever you ship it to figures out whatever is wrong.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-11-2024, 08:28 AM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 100
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
If it makes you feel better, this is something I need help with myself. So I'll be shipping mine as well.

The key to shipment is quality of the box(es) and packing materials, and proper packing of the box(es). I write "(es)" because this needs to be double boxed, or sent in a very secure heavy-duty doubl/triple corrugated box. For these exact TBCs, sent alone, good large bubble wrap and good foam peanuts are required.

Heavy PSU not needed, just the black box itself.

UPS, signature required, insured. Not cheap boat rate with a postal service.

This isn't something I'm doing tomorrow, not something quick, so plenty of time here. Just keep on the lookout for a good box (or boxes), and proper packing materials. Set them aside for when the day does come. Within next 3-4 months.
Oh is there someone who may be able to fix it? I'll definitely have a think about it, and gather some boxes and materials.

I should note this lines issue only happens maybe about once per tape (sometimes more) for about a second. So you've got to be looking out for it really. The shift to the right as hodgey mentions is always present. But capping at 704x576 fixes it.

Another issue that's cropped up is capturing through the second input, the picture goes black and white.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-11-2024, 02:43 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,184
Thanked 527 Times in 487 Posts
From web pictures, it looks like there are two versions of this box, From the inside, it looks like a lot of things can go wrong, Power supply issues, caps, cracked solder joints, lifting chips ...etc.





Attached Images
File Type: jpg p1200338sm (1).jpg (111.1 KB, 18 downloads)
File Type: jpg nx93ot478kob1.jpg (161.3 KB, 13 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-11-2024, 03:33 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,338
Thanked 2,428 Times in 2,064 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
From web pictures, it looks like there are two versions of this box,
There are actually at least 5 versions/generations, each with very different board and component layouts. .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Tape View Post
I should note this lines issue only happens maybe about once per tape (sometimes more) for about a second. So you've got to be looking out for it really.
Yep, that is the error entirely.

Quote:
Another issue that's cropped up is capturing through the second input, the picture goes black and white.
Hmm.. That is likely a problem with the s-video ports. How does composite act?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgey View Post
I've seen this happen with my TBC-3000 as well back when I used it a bit, though since it crops too much of the right of the image and has a noise pattern if the brightness isn't turned down a notch I don't really use it anymore so I don't know how frequent it is.
If you are shipping yours somewhere, feel free to let us know if whoever you ship it to figures out whatever is wrong.
Noted. Will keep in touch when the time arrives.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fix blue bleed/shift issue? stevevid Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 10 02-17-2021 04:47 PM
Chroma shift in VirtualDub? WarbirdVideos Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 02-04-2020 09:07 AM
Horizontal lines scrolling up the picture koberulz Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 06-07-2019 02:08 AM
Uploading Hi8 tapes to digital, gray lines in picture? Artemis399 General Discussion 3 10-17-2018 11:06 AM
Satellite problem: wavy lines in picture Skuff Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 11 08-09-2006 12:43 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM