#1  
04-29-2024, 02:24 PM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Haven't used it in a couple of months. Wasn't getting a picture out of it, had a look, no power LED. Jiggled the power plug, LED came on, but still no picture. Unplugged it from the wall, plugged it back in, LED blinked a few times then went solid. Still no picture. Turned it off at the back of the box, turned it back on, no LED. Now I just plain can't get the LED to come on at all. Not getting a picture either.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-29-2024, 07:26 PM
aramkolt aramkolt is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 349
Thanked 45 Times in 43 Posts
Would first check the power adapter itself if you have a multimeter to verify the voltage is correct, or try with another 12VDC power supply to see if you get a different result.

If your TBC-1000 hasn't been fully recapped, then would do that next. Something like 80% of the caps in mine were out of spec before replacing, so I assume that's relatively representative of those that haven't been recapped yet after 20 years.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-30-2024, 01:16 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Not sure if I have a multimeter, but even if I do I don't know how to check the power supply with it.

I have no idea what your second paragraph means.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-30-2024, 01:22 AM
Haunted_TBC Haunted_TBC is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 26
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
In the second paragraph, aramkolt is referring to the capacitors, which are the canister-like charge-holding objects soldered inside the device. Many of them have gone bad over the years, so “Recapping” is essentially tech-speak for replacing the capacitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-14-2024, 01:36 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,781
Thanked 2,495 Times in 2,121 Posts
That TBC-1000 can hopefully/probably/maybe be fixed, but you may have limited non-DIY repair options available in Australia.

There is one member here (that I recall off-hand) who's in Australia, that can maybe do that sort of work? Perhaps timtape can help?

In USA, Diopter_Doctor is your man.

I can't do recap work anymore, MS stole my dexterity for it, tremors, contracture, stiffness.
I have to outsource my caps work to others now.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-16-2024, 09:42 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
The power supply was indeed dead, but replacing it has succeeded only in giving me a power LED, I still can't get a picture out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-16-2024, 03:05 PM
mrmuy97 mrmuy97 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Personally I'd end the plugging in/ unplugging/ jiggling/ no LED/ blinking LED/ switch on/ switch off/ old power supply/ new power supply stuff right away if that were my own unit. Due to their age and rarity it's a massive risk to continue doing any of that unnecessarily and without doing any real troubleshooting or testing during it. The unit almost certainly needs to be recapped, and any troubleshooting is best done by someone who has disassembled the unit and is running real testing on it prior to electrical repair work being performed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
That TBC-1000 can hopefully/probably/maybe be fixed, but you may have limited non-DIY repair options available in Australia.

There is one member here (that I recall off-hand) who's in Australia, that can maybe do that sort of work? Perhaps timtape can help?

In USA, Diopter_Doctor is your man.
I usually look at it simplified to 3 main scenarios:

1. Leave as-is, unit is ruined, previous money spent on it is lost as unrepaired unit has minimal value
2. Have unit properly repaired, low additional cost $$, likely works for many more years, unit returns to full value + you continue to use it, sell if not keeping
3. Leave as-is, unit is ruined, want/need replacement, high replacement cost $$$$$$ + lost value of original unit (aka "the cheap man always pays twice")

Personally I'd arrange to spend some money and send it to one of the known pros here to be properly repaired and restored to perfect working condition.

recommended vcr+line tbc ---(Y/C)--> recommended frame tbc or "tbc-ish" ---(Y/C)--> capture
Reply With Quote
The following users thank mrmuy97 for this useful post: lordsmurf (05-17-2024)
  #8  
05-16-2024, 04:52 PM
timtape timtape is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 568
Thanked 108 Times in 97 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
Haven't used it in a couple of months. Wasn't getting a picture out of it, had a look, no power LED. Jiggled the power plug, LED came on, but still no picture. Unplugged it from the wall, plugged it back in, LED blinked a few times then went solid. Still no picture. Turned it off at the back of the box, turned it back on, no LED. Now I just plain can't get the LED to come on at all. Not getting a picture either.
. As mentioned, I'm a tech in Perth. Can check the unit for you. PM me if you wish. Tim.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank timtape for this useful post: koberulz (05-17-2024), lordsmurf (05-17-2024)
  #9  
05-17-2024, 12:08 PM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Well, I opened it up to have a look, and a bit of plastic fell out. One of the shafts holding the screws to the input plate had sheared off. Nothing meaningful, but there was a bit of plastic bouncing around...gave it another whirl and it works fine now. Whether the bit of plastic had somehow come into contact with exactly the wrong thing, or it was just a coincidence, I cannot be sure.

I can't actually get any software to interface with my capture card, but that's for a different thread in a different subforum.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to buy a DataVideo TBC-1000? ammonrose Capture, Record, Transfer 6 01-28-2024 01:26 PM
Datavideo TBC-1000 mod DV in/out? jwillis84 Video Hardware Repair 0 09-06-2017 09:37 PM
FS: Datavideo TBC-1000 (BNC mod+) juhok Marketplace 1 07-21-2017 06:40 AM
Datavideo TBC-1000 and SignVideo DR-1000 for sale [SOLD] Northpole Marketplace 2 02-15-2011 01:36 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM