Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-18-2015, 05:09 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I just bought a used Panasonic NV-HS1000. Got it very cheap so didn't really expect it to work at all... but it actually seems to works surprisingly well. The only problem I've found so far is the picture slider for adjusting softness-sharpness isn't working. It doesn't really sharpen or blur the image one single bit. Except from this, everything else seems to work perfect.

What can be the problem? I guess it may be a problem with one of the capacitors? Is there one specific capacitor I should take a closer look at? Or can it be something else?

Last edited by hysteriah; 03-18-2015 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-18-2015, 06:27 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 228
Thanked 99 Times in 76 Posts
There is a switch on the front that is labelled 'Ai' which stands for Artificial Intelligence - its the very first version of the CVC - Crystal View Control - that appeared on later decks. One of the things Ai does is auto adjust the sharpening so make sure it is off - and leave it off. Manual sharpening is the way to go.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hysteriah (03-19-2015)
  #3  
03-19-2015, 04:19 AM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
OF COURSE!
Gosh, I feel stupid now *ashamed*

Gosh, that actually means this unit is working perfectly. WOW! Thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-19-2015, 04:32 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 228
Thanked 99 Times in 76 Posts
Glad you got it sorted. Have you checked the tape path for cleanliness? It's worth replacing the pinch roller if it looks in any way shiny as when they are worn out the tape will wander up the ACE head and will give all sorts of little errors. They are still available new.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hysteriah (03-19-2015)
  #5  
03-19-2015, 04:34 AM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Oh, it didn't look very worn, but if it's a common problem and it's still possible to get them new, I will order one right away ;-) Where can I order it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-19-2015, 01:12 PM
hysteriah hysteriah is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 150
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Found the part number in the service manual and have ordered it now from a company, Dönberg Electronics in Ireland:
http://www.donberg.ie/catalogue/vide...ers/13124.html

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, QUASIPAL!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-19-2015, 06:25 PM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 228
Thanked 99 Times in 76 Posts
I see you found the same place I used - good that they carry them still! Well changing it is easy and well worth doing. The bearing inside the roller wears too and creates a slightly wavery sound when playing the linear audio track when worn. The pinch roller is a very critical item and so replacement is a good thing.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hysteriah (03-19-2015)
  #8  
06-21-2021, 10:50 AM
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have the exact same problem as OP, but my AI slider is already off. I tried with TBC on and off, and with a Panasonic DMR-ES15 in between as well. Can there be other causes for its ineffect?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-21-2021, 12:33 PM
Bogilein Bogilein is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 256
Thanked 100 Times in 72 Posts
If the editing control slider is on passive the picture slider has no function.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Bogilein for this useful post: EmielBoss (06-21-2021)
  #10  
06-21-2021, 12:44 PM
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogilein View Post
If the editing control slider is on passive the picture slider has no function.
Ah that's good to know! I read here that I should keep that on Passive:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldwingfahrer View Post
Try a different setter.
That is why we have professional digitizer also more than 40 setter.
From a simple consumer to expensive JVC BR-S822

AI = off
TBC = off
Edit Mode = passive
Should I set it to either Player or Recorder? If so, which one?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
06-21-2021, 01:33 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,685
Thanked 459 Times in 393 Posts
I'm not sure but I think the difference between player/recorder comes down to the edit controls/functions and doesn't have any impact on the image. The manual states "normally set to this" for recorder on the edit mode switch. Passive disables or reduces noise reduction and detail enhancement/sharpness adjustment as noted in addition to impacting the editing functionality. On the one I've used player/recorder makes the colors a bit bland/weak, so I've tended to use passive. I've seen similar from some other users, not sure if it's the case on all of these or if it's supposed to be like that or if it's something to do with aging components/internal adjustments. You'll have to judge what setting you prefer.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: EmielBoss (06-21-2021)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic NV-HS960 - sharpness issue hysteriah Video Hardware Repair 8 03-19-2015 08:14 PM
Panasonic NV-HS1000 VCR does not operate? Berryscope Video Hardware Repair 2 03-15-2015 05:23 PM
Panasonic AG-5700E vs Panasonic NV-HS1000 for transferring tapes? tsakodim Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-31-2014 10:00 AM
Can I use my Panasonic NV-HS1000 as a standalone TBC? hysteriah Video Hardware Repair 2 11-07-2014 07:15 AM
Test of JVC Picture Modes (Norm, Edit, Soft, & Sharp) Belmont Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 08-07-2012 10:00 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM