Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-17-2016, 09:46 AM
Free Member

Hello everyone,

I'm sort of a newbie here - although about a year ago I benefitted from the experience of a couple of members, in order to fix a broken Pana NV-HS1000 including Volksjager & cedricm, whom I wish to thank again. Well, like probably many other members here, I have a bunch of VHS tapes (mostly PAL) that I am digitizing over the course of several years (14000 tapes, 5000 down, 9000 to go).

I purchased a couple of VCRs, and am mostly sticking to a couple of Panasonic NV-HS1000 (pretty easy and cheap to find in Germany - I'm from Belgium)... but I have a few hundreds of VHS tapes recorded as S-VHS by drilling the extra hole (which I used in order to record teletext/subtitles information from BBC/C4 and the like)... and I did NOT manage to get good quality from these on NV-HS1000. I thought that, like some people wrote on the web, it's due to the inferior magnetic coercivity of these VHS tapes, being not S-VHS grade... but still I found a used JVC HR-S9500MS, in apparently good shape, from 120€ !! Tried that one, and bingo, these tapes play great (don't know why, there shouldn't be any difference, since the SVHS-ET circuitry is only used for recording, and not for playing), including teletext/subtitles that I'm able to capture using GBPVR. This dream lasted about 6 days and 15 digitized recordings... before that VCR ran into some trouble.

Suddenly, there's a large blurry horizontal zone (about 1/8th of screen height), which I manage - by using precise tracking - to mostly get outside of the visible area, but still I get those pesky "lines" on the top and the bottom of the picture. Looks like the signal is weak or something (sorry, I'm not into electronics, and I apologize for all the crap i'm writing here.... really sorry). I never never get stable hifi sound (hifi sound comes back but only for a fraction of a second).