Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-22-2016, 05:25 PM
amb47uk amb47uk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Guys,

So just bought my first VCR in a long time to capture all my family videos. Based on the information I got from here, I bought the Panasonic NV-HS1000 on ebay (which apparently was working before it was posted to me).

Unfortunately no matter what settings I try use, or what VHS tape. I only get a black screen with a white haze at the top. This haze changes when i fast forward during play etc.

Audio works fine, and if I press edit menu or go to test signal (switch at back), that shows up on TV screen fine, which tells me my connection is ok.

I have tried

VCR > svideo > Canopus ADVC110 > Firewire > Laptop
VCR > Scart > LCD TV

Both results are exactly the same.

I have also opened up player to take a look, given the main head and anything dirty a clean (it wasnt bad at all). I cant see anything loose either. - Again to no avail though.

Dont want to have to send this back if I can help it, these VCRs rarely appear. Hoping someone might know something that can help me?

I attach pictures if this helps at all too. http://imgur.com/a/i143C

Appreciate your time and support
Thanks
Adam

-- merged --

Added a video for DEMO: https://youtu.be/W3HWedtHSvs
(Note I am pressing the edit menu on the VCR to bring up the menu

Reading on previous threads (http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vcr-...nv-hs1000.html)

initial thoughts are:

Bad Caps (likely going to cost me the price of the VCR again to fix them)
Something coming loose during transit
Re-solder IC3 & IC4 in power supply.

Looking back I wish I tried harder at electronics in school as all these repairs are beyond my own skillset!

I might already be answering my own question, but maybe someone has some other suggestions?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-23-2016, 05:31 AM
jawasmell jawasmell is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If it was me I would definitely examine ic 3&4 like they say, and recap most of the power supply. I read that link and it does look like the possible issue. Either way if you want to keep this unit, you will have to get your hands dirty or pay someone to repair it. Not sure but I heard there are some bipolar caps in there too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-01-2016, 11:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,739
Thanked 2,483 Times in 2,112 Posts
This is easily another common caps issue. It's getting more and more common as years go by, and the caps give up the ghost. Repair it, and the deck should be good for another 10-15 years, easy.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: AdamEurope (03-02-2016)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic NV-HS1000 picture (soft-sharpness) slider not working hysteriah Video Hardware Repair 10 06-21-2021 01:33 PM
Panasonic NV-HS1000 VCR does not operate? Berryscope Video Hardware Repair 2 03-15-2015 05:23 PM
Panasonic AG-5700E vs Panasonic NV-HS1000 for transferring tapes? tsakodim Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-31-2014 10:00 AM
Can I use my Panasonic NV-HS1000 as a standalone TBC? hysteriah Video Hardware Repair 2 11-07-2014 07:15 AM
Panasonic NV-HS1000 NTSC output Medusaman Capture, Record, Transfer 2 02-19-2013 05:05 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM