#1  
03-27-2021, 07:48 AM
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Many years ago, I captured Hi8 with (I think) this ADVC device. Those captured were trash compared to the captures I get now, but one thing that was very helpful was that those captures don't contain any "empty tape", i.e. the blank frames in between scenes. I don't know how, but it appears that my setup back then didn't record, or dropped, the frames during these segments. With my current setup, there is a lot of blank screen. Is it somehow possible to have my setup drop these frames again? That would save a lot of time.

If not, what editing software is recommended for editing lossless AVI (Huffyuv) without reencoding to another codec? Does Adobe Premiere work, or LosslessCut?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-27-2021, 08:26 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,781
Thanked 2,495 Times in 2,121 Posts
What you want is actually a bad thing. DV transfer loses footage at stop/start of recordings. It's just a few seconds, but those seconds can be important. Analog capture records every second.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: EmielBoss (03-27-2021)
  #3  
03-27-2021, 08:30 AM
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ah, that's good to know! There were indeed second missing, which is not what I want at all. Thanks

What do you use for lossless editing/trimming?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-27-2021, 08:33 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,781
Thanked 2,495 Times in 2,121 Posts
trimming (remove stuff) = VirtualDub, using Direct Stream Copy mode
editing = Premiere Pro

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: EmielBoss (03-27-2021)
  #5  
03-27-2021, 09:01 AM
bookemdano bookemdano is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 152
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
In this case, what is preserving all your frames is your AVT-8710 frame TBC. You likely weren't using that during your previous capture attempts. The AVT-8710 is giving your capture card a proper, stable signal no matter what is fed into it from your camera/VCR.

In between video segments you're seeing color bars, right? That's what the AVT-8710 generates when it has no usable input frames.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank bookemdano for this useful post: EmielBoss (03-27-2021)
  #6  
04-04-2021, 05:47 AM
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
trimming (remove stuff) = VirtualDub, using Direct Stream Copy mode
When I trim away only a bit at the end of a video (using Direct stream copy for both video and audio), it still looks like VirtualDub is processing the whole video, and it still takes 10 minutes. Why does this happen, if only the designated frames need to be removed from the file?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
blank tape, dropped frames, editing, huffyuv, lossless

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beta tape is this dropped frames or the player or the tape? waloshin Capture, Record, Transfer 1 01-02-2021 03:58 PM
Way to automatically control intermittent overexposure issues? stevevid Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 13 09-14-2018 09:15 PM
A tape that can't be digitized? (Dropped frames?) moxiecat Capture, Record, Transfer 22 12-06-2011 05:57 PM
Automatically generated DVD Thumbnail-based Menus? Joekster Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 1 05-23-2011 10:21 PM
Avisynth filters, correct tape drop-outs admin Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 0 02-15-2005 05:07 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM