#1  
05-31-2022, 06:29 AM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Connecting a VCR to a DVCAM leads to video flicker. If the DVCAM is connected to a DVD player, or a game console with the same cables, it can record those fine, but why does the VCR have such a problem? It doesn't have this problem when it's connected to a TV.
I also noticed that whenever the VCR shows transitions to a black screen, the image becomes perfectly clear, but flickers once again when the image becomes bright.

Sample: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UeG...ShkZhSXn2rpv6h This is just some random TV recording, the issue is present on all tapes.

Last edited by IfyL; 05-31-2022 at 06:32 AM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-31-2022, 07:56 AM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 569
Thanked 86 Times in 75 Posts
Hmm interesting.

Sony DSR-40P by any chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-31-2022, 08:32 AM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, it's like a mini tape camcorder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-31-2022, 10:36 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 430 Times in 398 Posts
Any chance of a model #? Did you try to clean the heads and you are using firewire to rule out bad LCD screen? Or does this on a live feed before even recording on the tape? Possibly weak ADC that can't handle the signal from a consumer low end VCR. What's the model of the VCR? Too many variables and not enough information available.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-31-2022, 11:48 AM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The camcorder's model is: Sony DCR-TRV6E (PAL), and the VCR model is: Thomson V1800.
I have cleaned the VCR heads. The image looks fine on a TV with the same cables which I connect to the camcorder. I've also tried a USB capture card, which had no flickering problems whatsoever, it just had bad quality compression and was dropping frames.
Also yes, I've connected it to firewire and used VirtualDub to view and record the video. When there's a blue screen on the camera, there's a thin line at the top in software.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-31-2022, 03:00 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 430 Times in 398 Posts
Use WinDV or Sclive for DV streaming, not vdub. Use Vdub when you have a USB analog capture device.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-01-2022, 10:32 AM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sadly this doesn't fix the problem that the camcorder doesn't receive the video properly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-01-2022, 12:33 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 430 Times in 398 Posts
That wasn't suppose to be a fix, It was just an advice to use the right software for the right job.

If you can capture the video with a video card then there is no need to connect it to a camcorder, If you must insist on using the camcorder you can either send it out for repair which could cost you a lot of money assuming you can find someone who still tinker with 3 decades old technology and can find the parts, or buy another used working camcorder and move on.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-01-2022, 02:28 PM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As I mentioned, the capture card is no good.
Also I would've realized by now to send the camcorder for a repair, if every source was flickering. But it's only with this VCR, and the VCR outputs video completely fine on any other receiver. I was just asking for advice as to why would this be.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-01-2022, 08:32 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 430 Times in 398 Posts
It's probably for the same reason I mentioned above in post #4, You would need some sort of signal stabilization for any capture device or the camcorder you have to lock on the signal, a DVD recorder in the workflow, or a frame TBC, Alternatively a good VCR built in TBC should work fine with your camcorder.

https://www.youtube.com/user/latoak34/videos
Reply With Quote
  #11  
06-02-2022, 02:59 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,175
Thanked 2,248 Times in 1,931 Posts
Back up .... why are you using a DVCAM at all?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
06-02-2022, 05:03 PM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No other way, unless I spend lots of money just for a few very old tapes. Is there something bad about DVCAM recording?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
06-02-2022, 09:04 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 430 Times in 398 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IfyL View Post
No other way, unless I spend lots of money just for a few very old tapes. Is there something bad about DVCAM recording?
You will be still in the same loop, one day you would need to transfer those DVCAM tapes to computer, plus DV is a lossy format even when tape is bypassed and DV is stored on hard drive. Also the DV files have to be converted to a modern codec sooner or later and that incur another loss.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
06-03-2022, 03:19 AM
IfyL IfyL is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh, didn't know it was lossy, but still, it's better than letting those tapes rot away, or using VHS-DVD combo which gave me blocky mpeg2 videos. If I ever get my hands on a better equipment, I'll rerecord them. Thanks for letting me know.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony DSR-2000P PAL Digital Video Station DV/DVCAM (UK) RobustReviews Marketplace 1 06-11-2022 02:30 PM
VirtualDub Capture Preview - Video Flickering & Glitching rprilenski Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-17-2021 11:37 AM
Serious flickering on captured video? BruceOlsen Capture, Record, Transfer 7 11-17-2020 06:20 AM
Weird quality from new VCR setup using s-video? Jtm732 Capture, Record, Transfer 22 02-06-2018 11:27 PM
DV vs DVCAM - best editing codec for Sony DSR-PD175P PAL camera? kpmedia Edit Video, Audio 0 04-26-2010 04:36 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM