Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
08-03-2022, 08:50 PM
Free Member

Hello There! First post.

I'm a video artist who works with a lot of circuit bent devices, and I'm looking for a capture card that can handle these esoteric signals.

In the various video art forums, most people actually recommend rescanning (which is just taking a video of a CRT with a DSLR.) The reason being that most capture devices cause some loss of fidelity in the glitch effects when digitizing the signal, whereas CRTs display them well (as long as you maintain some semblance of sync).

I figure if anyone has any good ideas for capturing these crunched signals effectively, it'll be here!

---------

Anyway, I'm looking for the highest quality raw capture possible. If the card does anything to "fix" the image, it probably won't work.

I've read through many threads here - but many of the cards recommended for professional capture of SD footage seem like they might not be suited for the task of capturing utterly destroyed signals.

I'm thinking that means I'm looking at older professional gear - but I don't know where to start. Any advice or insight would be much appreciated!

(No requirements such as OS or cost... though winders 10.0 spyware edition compatible devices would be a bonus. I know the OS is terrible for capture though.)

Pic related - it's an example of the kind of wild signals I intend to capture.

Video Nasty Gltich Effects.jpg

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

08-04-2022, 05:51 AM
Free Member

Not sure what you mean by "glitch effects." I generally think of a glitch as the result of recording over a previously recorded area without a flying erase head.

You say it is art so precise reproduction of the original physical scene may not be the goal.