#1  
11-19-2022, 12:13 AM
mlsnag mlsnag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey!

I finally have the time to capure my vhs (tvrips, cartoons, personal tapes etc) and I want to be sure that everything is set correctly.

VRC (HR-S7600EU)
Should I change someting here? TBC button is always on.

c01.PNG
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.



Virtualdub

1) Crossbar Thing -> S-Video selected & Link related streams is disabled
(Pinnacle 710)
c02.PNG
Virtualdub:
2) Device -> Device settings -> all disabled ("switch audio source when changing video sourse" was on)
3) Video -> Preview
4) Video -> Compression -> Huffyuv v2.1.1 -> Configure -> I disabled "enable full size output-buffer"
5) Audio -> Volume meter
6) Audio -> "Enable audio playback" is disabled
7) Capture -> Timing -> I disabled "Drop frames when captured frames are too close together" & "Insert null frames when captured frames are too far apart"

Should I check/change something else? I hope that I didn't do anything wrong.

Also, I put a vhs and I noticed that the average rate was 24.8-24.9 instead of 25fps (I've set it as 25fps in settings) and I had some issues with Sync: Current error. Do you think that it's my tape's issue or should I change something to fix it?

Thank you in advance!

Ps. I'm using windows 10. I had freezes issues with my windows 7 laptop.


Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-22-2022, 10:19 PM
mlsnag mlsnag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Any tips?
Also do you thing that I have to change brightness, contrast etc before capture or after?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-23-2022, 02:50 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 622
Thanked 175 Times in 152 Posts
Why do you want generic rules? You should experiment with your own material what is best. The setting of the JVCs are tape and source dependant.

There are tens of posts about this; some comparison here https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vid...html#post70663 and here https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...re-%28again%29

Quote:
Also do you thing that I have to change brightness, contrast etc before capture or after?
You need to change the levels before capturing to stay inside the capture range of your card, and after, if needed, according to your taste and your post-processing.

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Today, 12:01 AM
mlsnag mlsnag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
Why do you want generic rules? You should experiment with your own material what is best. The setting of the JVCs are tape and source dependant.

There are tens of posts about this; some comparison here https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vid...html#post70663 and here https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...re-%28again%29



You need to change the levels before capturing to stay inside the capture range of your card, and after, if needed, according to your taste and your post-processing.
Thank you!

I tried to change some VCR settings.
Picture control (Auto, Edit, Soft, Sharp) and Digital 3R (on/off). I tested 1 cartoon tape. I guess I should test more tapes.
But for this tape, D3R as On was always better for every P.C option. As for P.C. option, Edit and Sharp was the best. Although Sharp is more clearer/sharp but it's interlasted compared to Edit option and for same reason the frames are not centred in the same way even tho it's the same frame. I don't why.
(TBC and B.E.S.T was always on.)
I guess audio is always the same, right? (I just pick uncompressed option in Vdub).

btw, for some reason, everytime I rewind my tape (after it finishes the Rewind, I mean), VDub loses the signal (black image) and I have to press play and Capture to make it work. It makes difficult for me to start capture before the tape starts so I can capture from time 0. Is there anything I can do?


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Today, 03:57 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 622
Thanked 175 Times in 152 Posts
Cartoons are not ideal for a testbench.

Post a raw capture segment, not a vlc snapshot. The comparison may be affected by any filtering in the player.

Generally, with a "edit" mode better to use "D3R" off, with a "normal" mode better to use "D3R" on, because with this mode there is a spatial and temporal noise reduction leading to a "softer" picture. Generally, these are the 2 best combination, YMMV.

The mode "sharp" is enhacing the edges but introducing problems: https://imgsli.com/MTM2MDk2 (look at the vertical lines in the cilinder) and increase the halos. I would not use this mode.

If you plan an AviSynth restoration with denoise and sharpening, operations that are more effective with AviSYnth than what you can achieve with the VCR, the general rule is to use "edit" + "NO D3R", but on my material I saw exceptions, so experiment yourself https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1jp...cMC7e3mAr6svPh

Quote:
TBC and B.E.S.T was always on.
T.B.C. always on is OK.

B.E.S.T. always on when you play tapes recorded using a JVC with this setting on is ok. For other tapes, experiment yourself, because these is a significant difference in the final image (I generally use B.E.S.T. on)

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Today, 04:38 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,142
Thanked 2,242 Times in 1,925 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
Cartoons are not ideal for a testbench.
I disagree, it's ideal for some tests. For example, when you want gradients or lines.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Today, 04:48 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 622
Thanked 175 Times in 152 Posts
Quote:
I disagree, it's ideal for some tests. For example, when you want gradients or lines.
True in general, but here we are discriminating between norm and edit mode of the JVCs. The difference is that the first tends to remove details while performing the noise reduction. Then we need an image with full of small details, easier to find with no cartoon video.

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid settings, AVI to x264, advice for best settings? nevs Encode, Convert for streaming 7 10-11-2022 05:32 PM
VirtualDub settings for new ATI AIW rig? DoddsieFox Capture, Record, Transfer 11 09-12-2022 10:35 PM
VirtualDub settings fail to stick? BarryTheCrab Capture, Record, Transfer 0 06-21-2021 04:51 AM
Virtualdub compression, colour settings? nevs Capture, Record, Transfer 3 09-03-2020 06:02 AM
HuffyUV Settings with VirtualDub for capture naripeddi Capture, Record, Transfer 7 04-12-2013 02:50 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM