#21  
02-07-2023, 07:25 AM
JaKJyb7 JaKJyb7 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My capture card, the GV-USB2, only captures 720x576 max, is it a bad card?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
02-07-2023, 07:28 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,409
Thanked 2,288 Times in 1,958 Posts
This thread got confusing fast.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaKJyb7 View Post
in digital terms, what resolution the modes of VHS and S-VHS
Do you mean:

(1) From a practical stance?
Then easy! In the 2020s (and 2010s), just capture max SD resolution of 720x480 (NTSC) or 720x576 (PAL). And done.

(2) Or do you mean from a theory stance?
Not that you can do anything practical with the numbers. And also understanding multiple variables affect it, from tape to tape, recording deck to recording deck, tape grade to tape grade, etc. Add in dogma like Nyquist (which is a theory, and NOT the only theory), and it gets more confusing; I'm not a Nyquist absolutist, some % of BS in it. So you get ranges, like 200-320 VHS, 400-540 S-VHS, etc. Not too helpful.

Quote:
and if PAL or NTSC will affect those resolutions
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaKJyb7 View Post
My capture card, the GV-USB2, only captures 720x576 max, is it a bad card?
Quality aside (debatable, not important here), the 720x576 doesn't make it a bad card.
So no.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: JaKJyb7 (02-07-2023)
  #23  
02-07-2023, 10:04 AM
JaKJyb7 JaKJyb7 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
This thread got confusing fast.



Do you mean:

(1) From a practical stance?
Then easy! In the 2020s (and 2010s), just capture max SD resolution of 720x480 (NTSC) or 720x576 (PAL). And done.

(2) Or do you mean from a theory stance?
Not that you can do anything practical with the numbers. And also understanding multiple variables affect it, from tape to tape, recording deck to recording deck, tape grade to tape grade, etc. Add in dogma like Nyquist (which is a theory, and NOT the only theory), and it gets more confusing; I'm not a Nyquist absolutist, some % of BS in it. So you get ranges, like 200-320 VHS, 400-540 S-VHS, etc. Not too helpful.

Yes.


Quality aside (debatable, not important here), the 720x576 doesn't make it a bad card.
So no.
Thank you so much for this. I was just after a response like this. It really is greatly appreciated.

I meant from a theory stance, but I take it that I shouldn't bother to try to rescale to the resolution it's supposed to be, what with all the factors you said.

About the card, I want the most I can get out of my captures, within reasonable price. So should I get a different one? If so, what would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
02-07-2023, 11:01 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,649
Thanked 465 Times in 431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaKJyb7 View Post
My capture card, the GV-USB2, only captures 720x576 max, is it a bad card?
That's the only resolution you can capture at, It's a hardware limitation by standard.

After capturing you can de-interlace, crop to 704x576 and resize directly to 1440x1080 HD standard, then encode to h.264 (mp4), but you will not gain any more details, it is just to set the aspect ratio to 4:3 HD standard so modern devices and TVs can play it without any issue. Keep the original 720x576 files just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
02-07-2023, 11:05 AM
JaKJyb7 JaKJyb7 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
That's the only resolution you can capture at, It's a hardware limitation by standard.

After capturing you can de-interlace, crop to 704x576 and resize directly to 1440x1080 HD standard, then encode to h.264 (mp4), but you will not gain any more details, it is just to set the aspect ratio to 4:3 HD standard so modern devices and TVs can play it without any issue. Keep the original 720x576 files just in case.
Why on earth would I want to rescale it to HD? That's redundant.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
02-07-2023, 12:00 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,649
Thanked 465 Times in 431 Posts
For the reasons I stated, Scaling artifacts by some cheap TV's, some devices don't work well with non square flags...etc. Unless your main viewing TV is an old CRT TV or SD plasma/LCD, any other TV will rescale it to HD whether you like it or not, Software resizing (or rescaling as you put it) is much much better. Also if uploading to the cloud such as YouTube you get less penalized by compression if you upload a HD file vs a SD file, That's what I do for my YT channel.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
Reply With Quote
  #27  
02-07-2023, 12:32 PM
traal traal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 309
Thanked 59 Times in 53 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
some devices don't work well with non square flags
True, at least for older devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Software resizing (or rescaling as you put it) is much much better.
Probably false, at least for newer devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Also if uploading to the cloud such as YouTube you get less penalized by compression if you upload a HD file vs a SD file
True, also YouTube only supports 60fps at 720p and higher resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
02-07-2023, 02:32 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,649
Thanked 465 Times in 431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
Probably false, at least for newer devices.
Actually it's true for only newer devices, Back in the day when HD started to wide spread SD was still main stream so HD devices manufacturers made sure the upscaling features were top notch especially in some high end TVs, A/V receivers, DVD and Blu-ray players.

Nowadays the upscaling is an after though with no real dedication to quality. Probably basic X-Y expander, Even current hardware designer at this point of time never lived the SD era so they wouldn't know how to design a good upscaler chip, The engineers who designed those things retired already, This is the same reason why there is no decent capture cards or TBC's available on the market.

Unless you are talking about stand alone upscalers like the Gefen and the likes, but those are old devices from the 2000's era, they just kept making them under the same design and same components, but they will stop making them sooner or later when demand diminishes.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
02-08-2023, 12:44 PM
traal traal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 309
Thanked 59 Times in 53 Posts
When I got my 4K TV, I did an A/B comparison between native 4K content and 1080p content upscaled by the TV. The built-in upscaler does a better job of removing jagged edges from lines than the nave algorithms in the web page I linked, but it isn't very good at restoring texture like in Shrek's clothing.

Anyway, upscaling has advanced since the SD era and there will always be a need for it so it will only get better.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
02-08-2023, 07:14 PM
dpalomaki dpalomaki is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,588
Thanked 348 Times in 304 Posts
Quote:
... upscaling has advanced...
Like just about everything related to video it will depend on the specifics of the software. There are few absolutes, but many that apply in the most cases. The trick is to know the capabilities and weaknesses of the tools one is using with the source material with which one is working.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
02-08-2023, 11:30 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,649
Thanked 465 Times in 431 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
When I got my 4K TV, I did an A/B comparison between native 4K content and 1080p content upscaled by the TV. The built-in upscaler does a better job of removing jagged edges from lines than the nave algorithms in the web page I linked, but it isn't very good at restoring texture like in Shrek's clothing.

Anyway, upscaling has advanced since the SD era and there will always be a need for it so it will only get better.
Neither 4K nor 1080p are SD materials, Yes technology advances but it moves on too and some legacy functions are left in the dark like displaying SD properly.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
02-09-2023, 01:51 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,409
Thanked 2,288 Times in 1,958 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaKJyb7 View Post
Why on earth would I want to rescale it to HD? That's redundant.
Not just that, but what is the the return on time and investment here? Too many people waste time, waste money, upscaling crap from Youtube, or old DVDs. Why? Does it make the content any better to watch? No. In fact, it often adds more artifacts, distractions, reduces quality, reduces enjoyment.

I come from the hobby/collecting side of video, from the 90s. Back then, before streaming, hobbyists had a bad habit of collecting toons/shows/movies that they'd never watched, sometimes never even had an interest in. There was this notion that we'd never have access to it ever again, so they hoarded. While millennials are often credited for uttering the phrase "because I can", that behavior exists before some of them were even born.

Upscaling is often just a pointless "because I can" scenario. It's often done due to the false notion that "better will never exist", but it's only true when you own the master materials. But even then, is it worth it? For some projects, yes. For most, no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
YouTube you get less penalized by compression if you upload a HD file vs a SD file, That's what I do for my YT channel.
While true, only resolution matters. It could be complete garbage. Youtube is tone deaf when it comes to video image quality (IQ), not just raw resolution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Actually it's true for only newer devices,
What's also true is this: sit at a normal viewing distance, most resolutions look the same, or most sets under 65". You only see "softness" as you get so close that you wipe boogers on the TV screen.

The main difference is interlace handling, or rather bad interlace handling. But I've not seen that in many years now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
Like just about everything related to video it will depend on the specifics of the software. There are few absolutes, but many that apply in the most cases. The trick is to know the capabilities and weaknesses of the tools one is using with the source material with which one is working.
This. But also noting some software is just inferior/terrible at everything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
NYes technology advances but it moves on too and some legacy functions are left in the dark like displaying SD properly.
This. The idea that "it always gets better in time" is false.
- Sometimes it is what it is, no further gains to be made.
- Sometimes stuff progresses, and then ceases. Sometimes due to "good enough" excuse, sometimes due to actual hurdles that make it impossible or unfeasible.
- Sometimes stuff does continue to be better, but it's a tiny minority of the time.

I refer to everything here, not just video.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horizontal resolution for VHS/8mm captures? Towncivilian Capture, Record, Transfer 4 03-27-2020 09:42 AM
LD capture resolution and ATI 600 clones? mocarob Capture, Record, Transfer 9 06-02-2019 01:17 PM
ATI AIW VE capture resolution? Feedbucket Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-28-2019 02:59 AM
AIW MMC resolution 384x288? (ATI All In Wonder) lookouts Capture, Record, Transfer 21 03-15-2006 10:57 AM
ATI MMC and 704/720 resolution thoughts? admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 09:19 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM