03-15-2023, 03:45 PM
Unconfirmed User

Hi there - I've had a TBC-3000 since 2016. Got it for $75 on eBay as a total newb and didn't think much of it until I looked up how much they go for these days. Yikes.

So anyway, I'm looking to get the best out of it. Not sure if it needs to be recapped or adjusted in any way. Is there any routine service or adjustment that would be worth investing in? It does what I wanted it to do since day one, which is stabilize and sync two composite signals so I can send to my Fairlight CVI, or use with my capture device (currently a BM Video assist).

To me, there's never been much of a noticeable leap in picture quality per se when using it, just a slight stabilization and an ability to capture, which is my main concern. My Mitsubishi HD-2000U TBC/DNR setting seems to work a lot better at cleaning up signals, but I guess that's because of the DNR.

Anywho. I made some comparison images attached, because one thing I have noticed is that the TBC shifts the image to the right on most VHS I try to capture. Even to the point where the black bar on the left is sticking out and letting in part of the image on the left side of it (hard to see but its in image 02-TBC3000.jpg. There are certain tapes that are naturally shifted to the left, and the effect actually centers the image, which is nice (see images "01"). I've noticed there's at least one other thread about this phenomena, but haven't seen a solution to it. Any help or thoughts appreciated.

Thanks!

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 01-VCROnly.jpg (176.1 KB, 19 downloads)
File Type: jpg 01-TBC3000.jpg (173.4 KB, 18 downloads)
File Type: jpg 02-VCRonly.jpg (111.4 KB, 11 downloads)
File Type: jpg 02-TBC3000.jpg (116.9 KB, 15 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-15-2023, 07:19 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
TBC-3000 = frame TBC
frame TBC = for cleaning the signal
line TBC = for cleaning the image
You need both.