Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-21-2023, 05:20 PM
Free Member

Hello,

I will soon have a load of VHS tapes coming my way, and given the price of conversion in my area, I decided to purchase the equipment and do it myself.

I've been editing for 20 years, starting in the gold old days of Mini-DV, so I am quite knowledgeable about things related to post-production, but lost track of the equipment specs a long time ago since we shifted to digital recording.

I am not interested in cheap Chinese knockoffs, but I can't spend $1200 on a player either. I'm also reticent to buy on Amazon, as sellers may or may not be fully aware of the equipment they sell there. Aside from eBay, any recommendations for reputable North American-based online shops?

That being said, what are good models out there in the $200-$700 price range, assuming the seller claims the unit is in great/very good condition? Are any specs worth taking into consideration besides the obvious? Perhaps like HI-FI capabilities, S-VHS port, etc.

As well, I understand now there are a great many RCA/USB adaptors available, but are they any good, or would you recommend another type of capture means altogether?

Finally, purchasing cleaning tapes would probably be in order. Do they all do the job well, or are there units that are far better than others?

My main goal, capture-wise, is to have a passthrough really. I do not want any type of modifications done during capture. The original frame rate, aspect ratio, and field order should be preserved. I'd rather output in ProRes, and work from that file, but I will most likely capture through Vegas, so perhaps this is a moot point.

Really appreciate your time and consideration.

P.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-21-2023, 05:38 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,463 Times in 2,095 Posts
Quote: