Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
09-17-2023, 07:26 PM
DigiTime12 DigiTime12 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been attempting some VHS captures using VirtualDub, using the same setting recommended in the guide on this website with Huffyuv compression. I am capturing with an Iodata GVUSB2. All of my Video8 captures that I have done with these same settings using my Digital8 camera look great and do not have these lines at all, however all 3 VHS tapes I have tried have this same issue. The below video is deinterlaced via QTGMC just to rule out interlacing and I wondered if it would help clear these lines up which I dont think it has.
Is this traditional VHS quality? Or is there an issue here?
I have messed with the settings on my DVS3U and none of them so far have helped. I have also done a head clean before putting the tapes in but I am a novice so would be willing to do it again if required. Just trying to get some clarity on what this is and if I am maybe looking at a player with worn heads or something. Many thanks


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 Out.mp4 (37.13 MB, 15 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-17-2023, 07:58 PM
Feedbucket Feedbucket is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 47
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
That looks like standard upper/top field first interlacing, which is normal for a VHS capture.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-17-2023, 09:13 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,367
Thanked 552 Times in 510 Posts
That looks normal, you need to de-interlace it. It doesn't look like you have de-interlaced it at all.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-17-2023, 10:00 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Sandgroper country, Australia
Posts: 756
Thanked 138 Times in 131 Posts
Agree, it hasn't been deinterlaced. Here it is, deinterlaced in VDub.

I'm sure somebody will be able to troubleshoot your QTGMC script if you post it.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Deint.jpg (38.7 KB, 9 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-17-2023, 11:53 PM
timtape timtape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 569
Thanked 108 Times in 97 Posts
Extremely shaky camera shots as is this one are also difficult candidates for data compression, and for deinterlacing. Interlaced files were intended to be viewed interlaced.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-18-2023, 04:08 AM
DigiTime12 DigiTime12 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi guys, I have attached a basic Avisynth script below, trying to learn Avisynth and use it when I can hence me using it here too. This is the script used to generate the output file seen here. I did just do a test using Virtualdub on a small sample and indeed that looks better it seems, how come QTGMC isnt fixing the lines? Am i doing something wrong here?


Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2023-09-18 100516.png (8.0 KB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-18-2023, 05:22 AM
DigiTime12 DigiTime12 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Turns out I have been very stupid indeed and when I decided to export the file with FFMPEG, I exported the original AVI and not the AVS script, very silly of me. I do however have another random issue with this project, I have discovered that when I export videos x264 mp4 videos with the original 4:2:2 colour space, these videos do not play on Apple devices and when plugged into my SmartTV via memory stick, only way I have managed to solve this is putting ConvertToYV12() in the Avisynth script which i think drops it down to 4:2:0? Is there a better way of fixing this? Ideally I would like to avoid losing colour data
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-18-2023, 09:42 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,367
Thanked 552 Times in 510 Posts
Not all devices are compatible with h.264 @ 4:2:2 unfortunately, there is nothing you can do about it.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, lines, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC HR-DVS3U No picture in play, but image in pause/FF? Jfeat Video Hardware Repair 6 08-15-2023 04:41 PM
JVC HR-DVS3U squealing during playback? aependell Video Hardware Repair 1 02-01-2021 11:11 PM
JVC S-VHS VCR: HR-S9500U vs. 9911U vs. DVS3U? leeoverstreet Project Planning, Workflows 3 04-11-2018 01:18 AM
Horizontal lines/scanlines in captures? (ATI 600 USB) Turok81 Capture, Record, Transfer 8 11-27-2016 08:25 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM