Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-26-2023, 06:04 PM
Free Member

Hey everyone,

I hope this is the best place to ask this. I'm sorry if it isn't.

I'm brand new to VHS to digital conversion. I'd really love to digitize my family videos before it's too late. I'll get to the point.

I bought this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I know I probably got what I paid for, but I plugged it into my old VCR, a Sharp VC-A542: https://www.ebay.com/itm/324513690015.

I can it up and running via OBS. Some videos produce only sound. Some videos produce picture and sound. However, the one consistency is that there are these green lines that overtake all of the video as seen in the attachment.

I'm not sure what to do to correct this so any assistance would be great. Additionally, I hate to ask, but please try to explain it as easy as possible. I'm new to all of this and have tried to look up solutions and have had absolutely zero idea what I was reading, as much as I wish I could.

Thank you to anyone that reads this and tries to help!

Attached Files
File Type: mp4 2023-09-26 18-51-48.mp4 (24.54 MB, 11 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-26-2023, 06:21 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,471 Times in 2,101 Posts
That's essentially the worst possible way to transfer video.

cheap Chinese Easycap (with earned the nickname Easycrap),
> into a random low-grade VCR,
> using the digital streaming software that treats your VCR like a webcam

You got exactly what you paid for: problems, unwatchable captures, low quality even when "good".

That's what has happened here. There is no way to fix it, aside from return it (or throw in the closet), and get better gear.