Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-27-2023, 06:38 PM
Free Member

Hello everyone,

Been reading this website for long, but I recently registered. I am not an expert but now I'm starting to digitize most of my tapes, PAL based +70 some childhood memories, family meetings, TV recordings and some comercial rare tapes (VHS and VHS-C).

Not gonna do any streaming or authoring... just preserve in great quality and then dump it.

This is my setup, it is not too bad right?

• PC: W10 AMD Ryzen 5 processor NVIDIA RTX3080 quite good machine
  • S-VHS: JVC HR-DVS3EU
  • DVD: Panasonic DRM-ES10, PAL
  • Capture Device: Hauppauge USB Live 2
  • NO EXTERNAL TBC (sorry it is too expensive for me)
  • VHS-C to VHS adapter: JVC C-P7U
  • Software: AmaRecTV

This is how I connect everything:

S-VHS player (S-Video out) ----> (S-Video rear in) Panasonic DRM-ES10----(SCART rear AV1 out---> adapter to S-Video---> S-Video out)---->Hauppauge S-Video in--->USB to Windows. For audio use the red and white cables from S-VHS to camera.

Just some points to highlight after a lot of research:

1) I read here that's preferably to use the SCART output (with an S-Video adapter) than S-Video on this PAL decks.

2) The VHS-C adapter is the recommended one on this forum.

3) Setups below are based on a general opinion of users on this forum.

S-VHS configuration:
  • B.E.S.T.---OFF
  • IMAGE CONTROL----NORM
  • DIGITAL 3R----OFF
  • DIGITAL TBC/NR---ON
  • VIDEO STABILIZER---OFF
  • IN OUT SETTING----L1 OUT S-VIDEO

DVD Panasonic DRM-ES10 settings:
  • Picture> COMB FILTER> ON
  • Picture > AV-in NR > OFF
  • Display> Grey Background
  • Connection > AV Output > S-Video

4) It is not new here that it is a PITA to make VirtualDub work PROPERLY with this USB capture device, so, if anyone have been ABLE TO make it work properly I beg his/her assistance . I also have the Pinnacle Movie Box Deluxe, quite old I guess it's not worth...