Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-29-2024, 02:24 PM
Free Member

First, I apologize in advance if I use improper terminology and/or my explanations are confusing, I would say I am a beginner level video archiver!

This is a long one, so get your favourite drink ready!

I am hoping that LordSmurf (and any other pro's) can read my post below and provide some guidance and feedback on my efforts to archive video from analog to digital format. Am I using the correct workflow? Is the process I have taken to date proper? Should I go back to the beginning before moving forward?

The following outlines the steps I have taken to archive analog video to digital
I began this process in 2007, as indicated below, however I did not complete it.

In early January 2024 I resumed my archiving efforts to convert video from analog to digital. My original analog mediums/sources are either on S-VHS-C, VHS-C or MiniDV tapes which have a limited lifespan and need to be converted before the medium deteriorates (tapes) and the methods of playback become obsolete.

I have original analog video on 34 VHS-C type tapes that was filmed in either S-VHS-C or VHS-C on my Sharp VL-C77UA Super VHS-C Camcorder which was manufactured in 1988. Tapes were recorded beginning in 1988 and the last were recorded in 2003.

I have original analog video on 17 MiniDV type tapes that was filmed on my JVC GR-D32 Mini DV Digital Cybercam which was manufactured in 2003. I believe these tapes were recorded between 2003 and the early 2010's.

2007 Archiving Efforts
In 2007, this is the equipment I used:
  • (2007-02) Samsung DVD-R150 DVD Recorder (S-Video & DV in, S-Video & Component out) – Made in China – Purchased NEW in 2007.
  • (1988-02) Sharp VL-C77 S-VHS-C Camcorder (S-Video out) – Made in Japan – Purchased NEW in 1988.