05-26-2024, 10:53 PM
Free Member

Hello all,

I am currently studying film in college and I've been looking into trying to rescue some tapes. I have a handful of movies that only exist on VHS and I figured I would try archiving them. I've been perusing this site for a few months now doing research and today I finally became a member so I can take this seriously.

So, to cut to the chase, I managed to get a SVHS machine, the JVC SR-MV40u. Facebook Marketplace seller, very little usage, and was mostly kept in a box. Got it for $80. While it's not listed among the top recommended machines in the buying guide, lordsmurf did consider this a B+ machine, and for the price I think that's good enough.

So here is where I could use some consultation. Since my SR-MV40u has TBC, will I still need an ES10/15? I know passing the signal through an ES10/15 will likely ruin the color, but it offers an extra layer of pseudo-TBC, so I am wondering if it is necessary or not. If I need one, I will buy one, if its to the detriment of preserving the quality of the tape in the archiving process.

If you guys DO recommend that I get an ES10/15, which one should I get. As I understand there are differences between the two and they might give different results. Given that, which one will pair better with an SR-MV40u?

The next thing I need help on is figuring out the best capture device for my situation. For starters, I need to make it clear that I cannot buy or build another computer. What I have is what I have. Money is not a huge issue, but it is still an issue. I can buy an ES10/15 if needed, and I can buy a capture card, given I can find ones for a reasonable price, but sinking money into a another computer is unfortunately out of the cards. I'm in college, I live in a small apartment, I don't have space or the money for another computer. This really sucks because I know most of you recommend a Windows XP or Windows 7 machine from the get-go.