10-13-2009, 01:25 AM
Free Member

I'm deciding between two methods to transfer my old 8mm video 8 tapes to my PC as avi for editing later. My handycam is broken so I will need to get one as I can't play them. I'm new to this, but I've been reading alot before posting.

Method 1:
I already have a pinnacle dazzle DVC-100 usb capture device and Pinnacle Studio 10. I just need to get a video8 or Hi8 camcorder. I've tried pinnacle with my VCR/VHS tapes and it seems pretty good, but it's all I've used so far.

Method 2:
Get a Digital 8 Handycam that can play the video 8 tapes and transfer via firewire. I read an article on videohelp.com about this and they said it was better than the capture cards they tested. However, I also read on this site that DV was harmful to analog colorspace.

Can you say one is better than the other?

I guess I'm asking what has better analog to digital conversion. Digital technology was new when Digital 8 came out and my Pinnacle Dazzle box is newer. But i'm thinking I should go with Method 2. I'm looking at Sony DCR-TRV series cameras on eBay. Thank you for any help.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-13-2009, 01:27 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

Method 1 is better.
I'll expand on this tomorrow.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mjk340 (10-14-2009)
10-13-2009, 03:37 PM
Free Member

Thanks. Looking forward to the explanation.
10-15-2009, 05:03 PM

DV was created as a shooting format. It's a mild compression in some ways (5:1 data compression), and high compression in others (4:1:1 colorspace, for NTSC).

In a digital equivalent to the analog signal, VHS and 8mm have a mild colorspace compression of 4:2:2. The grain imperfections of consumer tapes/signals also lend themselves to an approximate 2:1 or 3:1 compression, still less compressed than DV.