Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-27-2012, 08:57 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Hello guys,

I read a couple of topics about JVC HM-DH40000U D-VHS.

NJRoadfan seem to have tested, finding some "cons"

It's in bold in the VCR buying guide?

I have few NTSC VHS tapes, but I guess it will do the job for capturing.

Does this device will accept a external TBC and/or proc amp?

I can benefit from the same in-built TBC like in HR-S99xxU model?

I guess for 75$ in working condition, it will do the job.

Thanks for your advice.

Last edited by Mejnour; 01-27-2012 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-01-2012, 04:27 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,143
Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,926 Posts
Quote:
Does this device will accept a external TBC and/or proc amp?
Any VCR should be able to output video into a TBC and/or proc amp.

Quote:
I can benefit from the same in-built TBC like in HR-S99xxU model?
Generally speaking, yes, the TBC is at least as good as the 99xx. In fact, it may be better, as it does some frame sync. I forget all the details on how it works, and what does not work. In terms of features, quality, etc, this is one where I'd ask one of the other site members that owns these decks. Ask them to come post an anser to your question in the forum. (Please don't do tech Q&A in PMs, as that "hides" advice from future site readers.)

Quote:
I guess for 75$ in working condition, it will do the job.
Wow, what a bargain!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Mejnour (02-01-2012)
  #3  
02-01-2012, 06:31 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Sorry I though it was faster my PM, anyway I had to do a move because I don't know why
there were many interesed buyer but I was to first to contact the seller, so now it's mine...lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-01-2012, 06:35 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,143
Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,926 Posts
Nope, PMs are counter-productive to the queuing system for Site Staff. And then counter-productive to the goals of the site (making an FAQ for video/photo/publishing topics) between members. PMs are mostly for private-only type information, not technical issues. It's just what we've found works best for everybody in the past decade.

That's just an awesome deal, too.

I'd buy one for $75. (And I don't even need another VCR right now! It's just hard to pass up a $75 D-VHS.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-01-2012, 08:13 AM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,135
Thanked 351 Times in 287 Posts
The VCR has a frame sync, but it respects and passes on Macrovision if present on a tape. You will still need an external TBC to deal with protected commercial tapes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-01-2012, 05:32 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Anyone know why at p.54 of HM-DH40000U manual concerning digital R3

If you use this VCR as playback VCR for editing be sure to set "DIGITAL R3" to "OFF" before starting

It seem that some change have been made. I have the impression that they have separate the TBC function from the NR fonction. TBC seem called "video stabilizer".

When looking at p.27 of JVC HR-S9900U manual they recommend to set this function "ON" when editing!

Do I understand correctly...any inputs are welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-01-2012, 06:53 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,135
Thanked 351 Times in 287 Posts
The 'Digipure' TBC is always switched on in the HM-DH40000U, you can't switch it off. Digital R3 should be OFF and the video stabilizer only works with EP speed tapes and should be turned on when needed
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: Mejnour (02-01-2012)
  #8  
02-01-2012, 07:06 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJRoadfan View Post
The 'Digipure' TBC is always switched on in the HM-DH40000U, you can't switch it off. Digital R3 should be OFF and the video stabilizer only works with EP speed tapes and should be turned on when needed
"Digipure TBC" honestly I couldn't find anything name like this in the HM-DH40000U

I probably missed something as usual
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which external drive for mac ? Bill Downing Computers 7 03-17-2011 02:46 AM
Recommendation - External Burner lordgoat666 Blank Media 3 09-20-2005 03:44 PM
External firewire HDD wigam Computers 9 08-28-2005 04:49 PM
DVDLab wonít accept MPEG2 from ATI AIW TLin2100 Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 3 11-30-2004 02:42 PM
AIW or external converter? jrnyhead Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-15-2004 06:00 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM