05-20-2004, 03:53 PM
Free Member

I typed up the following a couple days ago while waiting on support site access. I am continuing to research new PC equipment and may have a few more questions as I continue to research.

I am new to video capture, etc. and have spent several days reviewing your http://www.digitalfaq.com (guides) site. I have also been reading http://www.pctechguide.com (lengthy site, but also very good information). I need to buy a new PC (for general purposes) and also have some old 8mm home movie tapes that I would like to digitize (to DVD/MPEG2), and I am trying to make good buying decisions.

I currently have a very old PC (200 MHz P1, 64M RAM), which includes the first version (I believe) of the ATI All-In-Wonder card. I have enjoyed watching TV on the AIW, but it’s not much good for capturing video on such an old (slow) PC. I am considering an ATI AIW 9000 PRO with a new system (probably P4 based) as this card seems to be a good balance between quality/features and cost. I have also researched and found that a set top DVD recorder appears to be a good option for capturing video (and perhaps overall simpler to use), although this type of device still appears to be quite expensive.

General question:
For a “newbie” like myself, would you recommend going “all-out” (possibly a relative term) on a new PC (2 big and fast hard drives, a quality TBC card, etc.) for the purpose of digitizing some old 8mm tapes, or just get what I need (in general) for a new system (I still plan to get the ATI card) and wait a little longer for DVD recorders to drop in price and more features to be added (I assume) and use a recorder for capture, then upload the MPEG2s to the PC and do authoring/menus and then reburn for final versions?