Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-03-2016, 07:55 AM
Free Member

Greetings.

Several years ago I took into possession a collection of 550-600 VHS tapes.

These tapes were used to record televised news reports, documentaries and films between the late 1980s and early 2000s. Some tapes were used to record multiple programs. As such, each tapes contains anywhere between 60m and upwards of recorded content that needs to be transferred to a digital format.

Much of the content on these tapes is difficult to obtain today and hence I am looking to make a digital archive of the collection.

I have had no prior experience with such projects and I am hoping to gain some advice on what equipment will be suitable for the task.

Unfortunately, I only have access to either a 2012 MacBook Pro or a 2008 iMac for the digital transfer process and as such I am looking for OS appropriate recommendations for hardware and software.

I intend to purchase OS appropriate hardware and software for the project as well as a recommended VCR.

I have looked at the Elgato Video Capture package - http://www.techbuy.com.au/p/118858/V...C108601001.asp - but the video resolution it records at is 640×480. Is this the best possible resolution I can expect from VHS-Digital transfer? For instance, is the 640x480 resolution a consequence of prohibitive file-sizes? If not, what other options might be recommended in order to obtain a higher resolution from the transfer process.

Another aspect of this project relates to the VHS collection itself as it has not been stored in an appropriately climate controlled environment. The tapes could have suffered some damage from excessive heat and cold. Any advice for checking for, mitigating or amending such possible damage is welcomed.