03-10-2017, 09:29 AM
Free Member

Hello everyone!
I am new to the VHS digitization club. Bought myself a Samsung V6700 VCR yesterday for $30 and on the way is a used Diamond ATI TV Wonder HD 600 PCIE card also for $30.

I plan to convert multiple PAL VHS tapes and with a good enough quality so I can upload it on YouTube and for other file sharing tracker sites. The old question of how will my card deal with PAL and is there anything else besides AVI format that will support it?

This forum has loads of information in it, I've spent the last 2 days reading trough and realized that my capture card choice wasn't that bad, right? Would I especially benefit if I go with another ATi style card say "AIW" ones or is this TV wonder just as good? I've seen the results of using stuff like "EZ cam" and it's fake copies and I was amazed that such a crappy image can be produced . So I am hoping that my setup will be capable of providing much better results.
Is my VCR a good one to do things like that and should I eventually get a different card? Would I seriously benefit with anything else in the price range of old ATi cards?

Thanks in advance
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-10-2017, 01:02 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
- That VCR is not good.
- You'll need a TBC between the VCR and capture card, else it will drop frame and/or simply refuse to capture.
- The capture card will be fine.

The ATI 600 USB cards are a suggested card. The ATI All In Wonder (AIW) cards will yield somewhat better quality, and have more options, but it has tradeoffs. Namely requiring a Windows XP desktop system (PCI, AGP or PCIe).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: glazuna (03-10-2017)
03-10-2017, 04:41 PM
Free Member