#21  
05-05-2018, 12:00 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
DataVideo would often provide AC adapters less than the unit rating. Not just TBC-3000, but TBC-1000 and others. I never understood this. In fact, any time a power issue arose, it was due to those under-amp supplies. The TBC-3000 would often come with a 9V 1.0 amp unit, instead of the 1.1amp (10 watt) minimum prescribed. But it would work, and often seemingly without an issue.

However, when replacing it, don't go under-amp. Get a proper 1.25a.

The general rule of amps is that you can provide as many as you want. The volts matter, not the amps (beyond the minimum). The unit will pull whatever amps it wants, at that volts. But when you start to give it 2x the amperage, odd things can happen, just as it could when under. A main reasoning for it is usually that items claiming huge amps are lying, not reliable.

Electronics has never been my forte. Just decent understandings for my needs (video gear being the primary).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
05-17-2018, 07:39 AM
RockandRoller70 RockandRoller70 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Good news. I ordered a Meanwell power supply and it resolved the issue I was seeing with interference in the picture using the TBC-3000.

Here's the Amazon link for the 18w Meanwell that's working good for me:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...d139fec32c97e8

Attaching pics of the unit and box for reference.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg meanwell1.jpg (62.6 KB, 8 downloads)
File Type: jpg meanwell2.jpg (31.7 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
The following users thank RockandRoller70 for this useful post: hodgey (05-17-2018), lordsmurf (05-17-2018)
  #23  
11-17-2018, 05:13 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
To add some more information to this thread...

The TBC-3000 is 9V 10W (1.25A) requirement.
The TBC-4000 is 9V 18W (2A) requirement.
Both are center-positive.
Both use standard 2.5 inner / 5.5 outer plugs.

The TBC-3000 OEM power supply is 9V 1.5A model SCP57-91500, and also works fine on the TBC-4000.
Unsure for TBC-4000, I've never seen one to date thus far.

Replacement models:
- TGrant replacement #1: Polaroid 9V 2A model DSA-20R-12 FUS (both 60/120 USA and 50/240 Europe)
- unknown (OEM?) replacement: LEI (Leader Electronics) 9V 0.8A model 410908RO3CT

Notes:
- Those are USA/NTSC power, unsure about elsewhere.
- TGrant has multiple replacement models available.
- The OEM is a heavy brick, almost weighs more than the TBC-3000/4000 itself!

Some thoughts:
I'm not super-duper knowledgeable when it comes to power ratings for electronics. Knowledge, yes, but not to an engineering understanding. I am unsure why 0.8A works well on an object rated for 1.25-2A. My current understanding would be that either could occur: (1) the power supply simply fails eventually, (2) the item is somewhere damaged over time from underwatt/amp. The TBC-3000/4000 is not protected like consumer devices, no fuses, hence why placing it on UPS is majorly important. But then DataVideo TBCs are also infamous for failed power supplies, both OEM and replacements. I know the 12V 1.25A TBC-1000 was even more finicky than the 9V TBC-3000/4000 units.

I'm currently research some others from LEI.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #24  
11-17-2018, 05:55 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,514
Thanked 412 Times in 351 Posts
I ended up getting this Mean Well power supply for my TBC-3000 after using the vanson multi-voltage adapter for a little while. It's a bit more powerful than what's required, but it was the closest I could find to the model SinghDk recommended that was available in my country. Seems be working fine without causing the noise issues I had with the OEM one that went bust.

I've noticed that there are some high-frequency/herringbone noise if the brightness is set to above the middle point though. I don't think that's from the power-supply, but I suppose it could be due to an outside source from the power system or something. Not an issue as long as the brightness isn't boosted though.

One annoyance I do have with it is that the image is shifted a bit, so that the black borders end up cutting off a few lines on the right of the image.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: sverholm (11-18-2018)
  #25  
11-17-2018, 06:08 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
All TBCs add some degree of processing noise, and image shifting is one of those. The goal is always to be as transparent as is possible. (Compare to something like Big Voodoo, which literally trashes your signal, chock full of not just patterning or shifting, but outright random noise.)

With DataVideo, PAL sometimes puts a faint green/red flashing line in the lower overscan, but I'm fairly certain it's also power related. I've only seen that when testing PAL in USA, never heard it being reported from a PAL country. But that's really nitpicking it to death. A single line is noise in the overscan is a trifle. But given how overscans are full of noise anyway, especially on VHS tapes, it's just another byproduct to remove in post-capture filtering/restoration. Even quick mild masking and re-centering, with careful encoding to final disc/streaming delivery format, would take care of it.

Same goes for the shifting issues.

Herringbone is always related to power. Always. It's somewhere. It could be upstream on the workflow, upstream on the building, or even upstream on the grid. I very often mention how we were forced to dump/retire DataVideo gear in 2006 or so, because the grid was the culprit. Well no way to fix that. So lots of AVT-8710 and some others were adopted. On the last move, out came all the DataVideo again (whatever wasn't sold to funds the AVT-8710s bought), and is why I started selling off so many AVT-8710s starting around 2016.

Thanks for the add about the PSU you're using. Every bit helps.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #26  
11-18-2022, 04:39 PM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 84
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Can anyone recommend a good UK power supply for this? I've been getting some terrible herringbone, especially on reds, so i think it's being caused by a universal adapter i bought 5 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
11-18-2022, 05:16 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,514
Thanked 412 Times in 351 Posts
I've used a Meanwell (a 4A one which is a bit more than needed but it that was the only one I found at the time, can go for one with less amps) which seems to work fine. Though, my TBC-3000 has some high frequency noise issue still which I haven't managed to find the reason for if the video level is at default or higher and is shifted a bit so haven't used it much in quite a while.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #28  
11-18-2022, 05:22 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Buy this:
Polaroid DSA-20R-12 FUS, 9V 2A, center-positive, 100-240V

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #29  
11-19-2022, 05:47 PM
Master Tape Master Tape is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Scotland
Posts: 84
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks LS, i stand corrected though. I took the TBC out of the equation and the herringbone noise still there, which must mean the VCR's power supply itself.

Either that or it's a common problem with S-Video that can't be helped.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
11-20-2022, 10:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Cables go bad, can pick up RF. Some were never good. I toss cables each year for this reason. Part of the "problem" is that I always have to reconnect cables, different workflows. That causes some wear.

The VCR power supply is not outside realm of possibility. And it may be worse in PAL than NTSC, more voltage going through it.

DataVideo also had PAL-native and NTSC-native gear. Those did both, but priority was given to one format. I've seen instances where that can matter.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing a new Device: The GV ADVC-3000 VideoTechMan Capture, Record, Transfer 4 09-18-2018 02:57 AM
Diagonal line noise on VHS video? Luma noise? bilditup1 Capture, Record, Transfer 66 10-17-2015 01:03 AM
Wanted: DataVideo TBC-100 or TBC-3000 Jazzspot Marketplace 3 11-13-2014 12:42 PM
Datavideo TBC-3000 Dual Channel (TBC-1000, AVT-8710 alternative) for sale [SOLD] Nightshiver Marketplace 3 01-08-2011 12:03 PM
DataVideo TBC-100, 1000, 3000, 5000, 7000 Time Base Corrector user manuals [DL] lordsmurf Video Hardware Repair 3 08-19-2010 10:14 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM