#1  
03-25-2006, 07:37 AM
Nosinik Nosinik is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've been working on a dvd set this week. I use Video Redo to prep the episodes for authoring with DVDWS 2. The created MPEGs have perfectly synced video and audio, but after authoring, are completely out of wack. I used to have the same problems backing up my BTAS and STAS discs, but Video Redo always made them perfect. Has anyone figured out a workaround for this?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-25-2006, 08:16 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,828
Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,128 Posts
You're using commercial source? Or homemade source? Big difference.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-25-2006, 08:18 AM
Nosinik Nosinik is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is a commercial source. I bought it this week but I like to add chapters.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-25-2006, 08:47 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,828
Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,128 Posts
Rip in IFO mode in DVD Decrypter. Should give each episode in separate file.

Use "VOB Edit" (name of software) to demux audio and video, do each demux stream separately. Commercial releases have a LOT of stuff in the streams, this is your problem.

Then remux (if needed, probably not) in TMPGENC (file -> MPEG tools) and then edit in VideoReDo, if needed. Again, probably skip all this.

Import a/v files into authoring software, re-author with new menus, add chapters as wanted.

Done.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-25-2006, 10:47 AM
Nosinik Nosinik is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ugh.

Still didn't work. I followed your instructions but I still get the same problem. I used DVD Decrypter (last available version) in IFO to rip one episode. I then used Vobedit v0.6 to demux each stream (video and audio) separately. I then remuxed them with TMPGEnc. A quick run through VideoRedo (v2.2.1.445) and placed into DVDWS2 (with all updates) for authoring. The episodes start out good, but quickly begin to shift out of sync until the end where it is 1-2 seconds out.

Maybe this is some kind of new copy protection. Any other ideas, LS?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-25-2006, 11:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,828
Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,128 Posts
I have no idea. This is one reason I thoroughly hate to re-author commercially released videos. The MPEG video stream may be dirty, would be my next guess. Run it through RESTREAM and turn on all the various cleaning-type options.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-25-2006, 11:37 AM
Nosinik Nosinik is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've never used that tool before. I'll research it and try it out. Thanks for the help, LS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-25-2006, 12:20 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,828
Thanked 2,503 Times in 2,128 Posts
Check this out:
http://www.digitalfaq.com/dvdguides/...g/restream.htm
See the "advanced usage" note.

And then do these:

restream-retail.gif



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
03-25-2006, 11:48 PM
Nosinik Nosinik is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well ReStream did it. When I would run it with the settings checked, there were always problems. By some fluke, I ran the video stream through it without any of the settings checked and the resulting stream was authored with no out-of-sync issues. Strange to be sure.

Thanks for introducing me to this program LS!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about audio sync on certain burns Damien Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 03-20-2009 09:22 PM
Mpg/Vob audio Gradually goes out of sync Konfusion Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 01-13-2008 01:10 AM
Audio-video out of sync, other problems yargellham Capture, Record, Transfer 7 11-20-2005 02:28 PM
Audio video sync errors 777sp2 Capture, Record, Transfer 9 11-18-2005 03:33 PM
ATI/Creative Audio/Video sync problem Edye Capture, Record, Transfer 4 11-21-2004 03:12 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM