Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-06-2020, 07:58 AM
Free Member

Hello!

I'm new here and working on a project to capture some old VHS tapes. After reading numerous articles I understood that some of the video issues I was having with capturing on a couple DVD/VCR combos could likely be solved by having a better VCR with TBC. I purchased a Panasonic AG-1970P off eBay recently and have been playing around with it. The video quality is better but I'm noticing that the audio output sound much more muddy or muffled compared to the audio captured with the other units. I've added a video here for reference and you can hear the difference. I've played around with all the settings on the 1970P and looked through the manual but admittedly I'm a newbie to the world of high-end VCRs.

Any advice on what I can try or what might be going wrong? Thanks!

Attached Files
File Type: mp4 video1.mp4 (2.80 MB, 16 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-06-2020, 12:13 PM
Free Member

What are you using to capture?
11-06-2020, 01:25 PM
Free Member

I tried a couple different programs. One is "VHS2DVD" - some wizard that came with the RCA to USB capture device that I purchased. I've also used OBS. Results are the same with both programs.

From a hardware standpoint, I've tried using this VHS2DVD device from ClearClick which I think is just a rebrand of the same hardware you can find under a bunch of different names. I also purchased an RCA to HDMI converter and HDMI capture device to see if that makes a difference but I am getting the same results with both setups. The problem seems to follow the VCR.
11-06-2020, 01:34 PM
Free Member

Muffled audio can be caused by a dirty audio head (or very worn or misaligned one but that's much less likely). Neither of the clip sound like hi-fi stereo, so I presume it's standard linear audio.
11-06-2020, 02:04 PM
Free Member