04-25-2021, 07:42 AM
Free Member

I am capturing some old hi8 tapes and Im struggling to find out how to improve the quality. For playback I use a DRV-TRV235E, which works great, and for capture I use the hauppauge usb-live2.

The problem is that the capture looks too dark to me and the colors a bit flat. I use the camcorder's lcd for reference and there the image looks much more lively so to say.

I have added a sample. Sometimes the images gets really dark and it becomes hard to see any detail. Especially at the end of the clip

Is the recording done incorrectly or can I fix this in avisynth? If so how? Something with the levels and gamma?

I am a complete newbie to this and avisynth is still somewhat puzzling. From what I get from the histograms, the image should be within bounds. But I may be reading them wrong.

Also two other things I just noticed. When I trimmed a clip in virtualdub to share here I applied huffyuv again otherwise the filesize would just be enormous. Is that ok? And I just noticed that audio is out of sync. I will have to look into that as well...

Attached Files
File Type: avi sample.avi (75.47 MB, 12 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-25-2021, 08:45 AM
Free Member

If trimming a clip in Virtualdub, select Video, then Direct Stream copy and it will save the clip in current video format.
The following users thank stymie for this useful post: sallustius (04-25-2021)
04-25-2021, 09:34 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by stymie View Post
If trimming a clip in Virtualdub, select Video, then Direct Stream copy and it will save the clip in current video format.
Thanks! Here is a reupload. That makes a difference in filesize.

Attached Files
File Type: avi sample.avi (46.92 MB, 3 downloads)
04-25-2021, 10:14 AM
Free Member

Quote:
I use the camcorder's lcd for reference
How does it look on your TV?

I have the same card and never experienced this behavior, but I only capture s-vhs tapes recorded from digital TV broadcast.