05-05-2022, 02:11 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 88
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Thank you for the reply so fast.
I am assuming the settings you're using are the ones for your program and not Hybrid correct?
|
Someday, 12:01 PM
|
|
Ads / Sponsors
|
|
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
|
|
|
05-05-2022, 02:49 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
It's actually built in the capture device and are part of the proc amp after the video has been converted to digital, A link to those menu pages.
https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
|
05-09-2022, 11:16 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 88
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Interesting.
Also I wanted to ask when you do your video conversion down and then up for 720x480 --> 704x480 --> 1440x1080
Are you just using the normal resize or are you using the resize tool inside of AVIsynth or Vapoursynth? Could you possibly post your settings so I could see exactly what you're doing?
Thank you!
|
05-09-2022, 12:04 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
720x480 -> De-interlace -> Crop to active video area -> Upscale to 1440x1080 all in one step using multiscript avspmod frame visualizer.
Code:
AviSource("C:\Users\User\Desktop\graduation.avi")
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC(Preset="Fast")
Crop(X1, Y1, X2, Y2)
LanczosResize(1440, 1080)
https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
|
05-09-2022, 06:42 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 88
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34
720x480 -> De-interlace -> Crop to active video area -> Upscale to 1440x1080 all in one step using multiscript avspmod frame visualizer.
Code:
AviSource("C:\Users\User\Desktop\graduation.avi")
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC(Preset="Fast")
Crop(X1, Y1, X2, Y2)
LanczosResize(1440, 1080)
|
So that would bring it down to 704x528 and upscale to 1440, 1080 all at once?
|
05-09-2022, 07:52 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
No, Where did you come up with 528?
https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
|
05-11-2022, 02:47 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 88
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
My mistake. I meant 704x480. As you mentioned in a past post on this thread bringing it down to 704 before upscaling to 1440.
|
05-11-2022, 04:18 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
You can bring it down to any resolution as long as you crop in a 704:480 ratio so you don't alter the frame's geometry, Meaning if you have to crop to 698 horizontally, 698x480/704 = 476, the new resolution will be 698x476, resize this to 1440x1080.
|
06-28-2022, 08:24 AM
|
|
Premium Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34
720x480 -> De-interlace -> Crop to active video area -> Upscale to 1440x1080 all in one step using multiscript avspmod frame visualizer.
Code:
AviSource("C:\Users\User\Desktop\graduation.avi")
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC(Preset="Fast")
Crop(X1, Y1, X2, Y2)
LanczosResize(1440, 1080)
|
I also found this thread super helpful. Just had one question about cropping the video.
Example:
I need to crop all sides to get rid of the overscan...
Right: 8
Left: 8
Bottom: 8
Top: 2
This would bring the resolution to 704x470
Do you take any additional steps if you need to crop the overscan on the top and/or bottom?
Last edited by dudebuddy; 06-28-2022 at 08:46 AM.
Reason: typo
|
06-28-2022, 09:30 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
704x470 is a wrong aspect ratio, I don't understand your question, you've already cropped the image.
https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
|
06-28-2022, 09:36 AM
|
|
Premium Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
How do you get rid of the overscan on the top and bottom while keeping the correct aspect ratio??
|
06-28-2022, 09:51 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 342
Thanked 65 Times in 59 Posts
|
|
Code:
AviSource("C:\Users\User\Desktop\graduation.avi")
AssumeTFF()
QTGMC(Preset="Fast")
# Crop Right=8, Top=2, Left=8, Bottom=8; result=704x470
Crop(8, 2, -8, -8)
# Center the 704x470 video in a 704x480 frame to restore the 10:11 PAR
AddBorders(0,5,0,5)
# Upscale to square pixels
LanczosResize(1440, 1080)
This adds black borders at the top and bottom in order to keep the correct PAR.
|
06-28-2022, 10:15 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by dudebuddy
How do you get rid of the overscan on the top and bottom while keeping the correct aspect ratio??
|
By cropping proportionally or masking off.
|
06-29-2022, 10:03 AM
|
|
Premium Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
What codec/file format do you export to?
Thanks for the info!
|
06-29-2022, 10:49 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
|
06-29-2022, 09:40 PM
|
|
Premium Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34
|
Once you have the upscaled lossless avi, what application or script do you use to encode to MP4? And would you mind sharing your settings/script?
I’m using hybrid, but don’t like the results using the settings I’ve seen on this forum and others. After doing some digging, I figured out settings in hybrid that make the MP4 look pretty much identical to the lossless avi, but the encoding is taking way to long. So I’m searching and hoping I can find a way to encode a little faster while keeping the same quality.
|
06-30-2022, 12:15 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,792
Thanked 486 Times in 448 Posts
|
|
My encoding is about 5-10 frames a second, not what you are looking for.
|
Similar Threads
|
Thread |
Thread Starter |
Forum |
Replies |
Last Post |
Upscaling VHS before or after capture, which is best?
|
BIGMEDIADINO |
Capture, Record, Transfer |
3 |
10-23-2020 12:51 PM |
NTSC vs. NTSC-J IRE black levels? (capturing Japanese VHS tapes)
|
Wingzrow |
Capture, Record, Transfer |
7 |
08-30-2020 09:49 AM |
VHS upscaling to HD?
|
waloshin |
Capture, Record, Transfer |
5 |
06-10-2019 03:16 PM |
Faroudja video processors for upscaling video transfers?
|
MelnickStudios |
Capture, Record, Transfer |
2 |
03-23-2017 03:15 PM |
Wanted to buy Blu-ray player for upscaling VHS
|
Giana |
Capture, Record, Transfer |
2 |
01-08-2013 11:59 PM |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM
|