Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-12-2023, 06:28 PM
Free Member

Hi guys, I have been using Avisynth for over 15 years.

But until today I could not create a script that works well with black horizontal lines because they are of different sizes.

Almost all the VHS tapes I have are very oxidized because where I live the normal humidity is almost 90% and it is also very hot.

In this case, do you know any program or Avisynth script that can find these horizontal lines automatically in the video so that I can do a faster and more optimized manual editing?

Thank you very much in advance
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-13-2023, 01:12 AM
Free Member

It might help clarify the problems to upload some examples of the black horizontal lines.

A warm, humid climate might lead to mould on tapes but I doubt it will lead to oxidising as the ferric oxide magnetic coatings on most VHS tapes are already oxide and can withstand immersion in water if treated properly and promptly.

http://www.specsbros.com/disaster-re...-exposure.html
07-13-2023, 06:46 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by timtape View Post
It might help clarify the problems to upload some examples of the black horizontal lines.

A warm, humid climate might lead to mould on tapes but I doubt it will lead to oxidising as the ferric oxide magnetic coatings on most VHS tapes are already oxide and can withstand immersion in water if treated properly and promptly.

http://www.specsbros.com/disaster-re...-exposure.html

Video Sample:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YI1...ew?usp=sharing

Thank you in advance!
07-13-2023, 08:31 PM
Free Member

Thanks for the sample. The tape and recording seems fine.