Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-15-2024, 12:34 PM
Free Member

Hello. I would appreciate some feedback on my hybrid crop settings? I am new to this but eager to learn. The source is a VHS PAL tape. If I force 4:3 output without 5:4 input the picture squeezes in a lot. 12 pixels is enough to take out the head switching noise at the bottom. I have taken 16 off the right as there is some color distortion which I would like to mask further but not sure if it's feasible.

I have attached a photo with my settings.

Thanks, Joel

Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0271.jpg (48.2 KB, 14 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-15-2024, 02:30 PM
Free Member

Those settings make no sense.
4:3 is a DAR(=display aspect ratio) not a PAR (pixel aspect ratio).
=> read up on what those mean and how they interact
I'm not really sure what you want to achieve. Best share a small sample of your unprocessed source.

Cu Selur
03-15-2024, 03:54 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
I'm not really sure what you want to achieve. Best share a small sample of your unprocessed source.

Cu Selur
I will look into this and post a sample of the uncompressed footage when I'm at the PC in a few hours.
Thanks for the feedback.

Joel
03-15-2024, 08:59 PM
Free Member

Quote:

Cu Selur
Here is a quick sample of the source. It's late here now and I haven't managed to get time to look into what you suggested. Any information you may pass over in the meantime will be appreciated.

The goal is to play on a modern TV/Monitor. Ideally, I would like to focus on getting my brain around cropping at the moment before moving on to implementing filters.

Cheers,

Joel

Attached Files
File Type: avi PAL VHS Sample.avi (57.89 MB, 9 downloads)
03-16-2024, 01:23 AM
Free Member

Modern TVs should have no problem with correctly interpreting PAR flags.
What I would do, looking at the file as a basic start: