Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
12-15-2011, 08:43 PM
Urbane0083 Urbane0083 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
As a note, I also have a Panasonic DMR HS2 DVD Recorder - should I consider its use as a pass through for extra crappy tapes?


This question has been split from another post or thread. This was done in order to address the topic more in depth, make it easier to find via forum searches, as well as prevent the other post/thread from going too far off-topic. Please continue this part of the conversation here. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-15-2011, 08:43 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,311
Thanked 374 Times in 341 Posts
It might help. I don't know that it has the same hardware as the Panasonic ES10 and ES15. The ES20 has been discussed back and forth on this site and videohelp.com through the years, but I think the most recent verdict is that the ES20 does NOT have the passthrough sync filters ability. Even then, the ES15 was not working on all inputs like the ES10 did. The ES10 passthrough worked on all inputs.

Note that I'm going from memory. However, it's a subject I looked into a few times this year, as hardware was being replaced, added or upgraded. So it's not an extremely stale memory, just not something I've read or tested recently.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: metaleonid (09-17-2013)
  #3  
12-16-2011, 09:47 AM
Urbane0083 Urbane0083 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
what would be the best way to test this? Also, just to be clear, it is an HS2 - which was a higher end unit at the time. Think I dropped around 800-900 for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-16-2011, 09:54 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,311
Thanked 374 Times in 341 Posts
The easiest way is to test it with a tape that has known tearing problems. And on that front, you're in luck. The tape you sent me had horrible tearing. Use that one. If it plays clearly -- without the picture jerking back and forth at the top of the screen -- then it's functioning as a passthrough frame sync / TBC like filter.

Give that a try.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-07-2012, 10:56 AM
manchild manchild is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Urbane0083, I would be interested to know the outcome of your test, as I know someone who is selling a faulty unit for a low price. Did you find out whether the HS2 improves video passed through it ? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-07-2012, 07:06 PM
Urbane0083 Urbane0083 is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
No idea yet. Holidays crushed me, and I've only this week gotten my head above water. I also am having to rework my capture PC, for it is still not quite right.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-17-2013, 05:21 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 502
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
It might help. I don't know that it has the same hardware as the Panasonic ES10 and ES15. The ES20 has been discussed back and forth on this site and videohelp.com through the years, but I think the most recent verdict is that the ES20 does NOT have the passthrough sync filters ability. Even then, the ES15 was not working on all inputs like the ES10 did. The ES10 passthrough worked on all inputs..
What about ES25?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-29-2013, 11:48 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,363
Thanked 2,434 Times in 2,069 Posts
This was answer in your other recent thread: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...rder-pass.html
Continue all conversation there.

Also refer also to my old post here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...dmr-es25s.html
More info there.

Thanks.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-30-2013, 02:58 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 502
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
I see. But I only needed it for the comb filter from the LD player that already has TBC.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of BDR Panasonic blank Blu-ray discs - Any good? vampat Blank Media 3 11-07-2011 08:12 PM
Improve playback quality of captured VHS tapes? + computer preview output Kereellis Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 18 12-29-2010 01:37 PM
Panasonic AG 1980P S-VHS player ejects all tapes - help! admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 09-01-2010 12:57 AM
Advice to preserve SVHS/VHS tapes, family videos in best quality admin Project Planning, Workflows 11 08-19-2010 01:58 PM
Old VHS/8mm tapes - which setup yields best quality? ramrod Capture, Record, Transfer 7 10-16-2009 10:27 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM