Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-07-2020, 01:43 AM
Free Member

Not sure if this is the correct thread.

I've tried to read a bunch and frankly, my head hurts. So I'm going to just ask the question even though it may have been answered elsewhere.

I have Hi8 tapes that I recorded from a Sony CCD-TRV98. Camcorder still works. I've looked and it says it has TBC, so I think I've read that is good.

I also have a Magnavox MDR 515. I'm original owner since around 2012. Originally purchased for this project but became very intimidated, so just used it as a DVD player. Now trying to bite the bullet and get this job done. DVR works as I just attempted to record to DVD tonight. I think it's my first time. I haven't finalized it as it was a 4 minute test and I don't want to waste the DVD, so I have no idea what it looks like on my computer.

My computer has Windows 10.

I have Verbatim DataLifePlus DVDs, DVD-R, Made in Taiwan.

Hoping that I could finally finish this project, I recently purchased an Elgato Video Capture. It is extremely easy to use and I've been very thankful for that. But as I'm sure you can guess, I'm not very happy with the video quality.

I'm not sure if it's the Elgato (which I know is not looked upon highly at this site), or if it's the actual source that's causing issues. The issue that is obvious to me is graininess. When video is smaller size, it looks better than when it's on my 55" tv, or even fullsize on my desktop monitor for that matter.

My original thought was to capture the videos and upload to a private YouTube channel to invite family members to view. It seemed like an easy way to have access to the videos, especially if family is far away. Plus it seemed an easy way to "store" the videos.