Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-31-2020, 02:00 PM
Free Member

Dear all,

Happy New Year!

I have been having various intense debates with various people over the festive period regarding the use of filters/scripts to post process analogue artrfacts, noise and such like.

There are various schools of thought for 1st generation tapes here ranging from keeping them raw is best through to the other end of the spectrum where you must post process every tape!

I am a total novice and therefore not qualified to have such debates. Therefore I am struggling to justify the need for post processing. Can anyone help me to:

A) understand this better myself so I can have better informed discussions and
B) tell me what the purist view is

I know that each recording and tape is different so it is horses for courses but I just want to understand the fundamentals first.

Thank you!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-31-2020, 02:18 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,447 Times in 2,079 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by willow5 View Post
from keeping them raw is best
Very often, this is just an excuse to be lazy.

There is actually no such things as "raw". All video gets processed between tape and capture, and therefore the prevailing issue is how well that processing is, and how agreeable the tape is to being processed. Bad gear makes every tape look terrible, good gear makes many (but never all) tapes look extremely acceptable without much/any further work.

After capture, sometimes you still need processing, beyond what the hardware could do. Video is supposed to be enjoyable, and distractions take away from that enjoyment. If processing restores enjoyment, then you restore the video.

Quote:
through to the other end of the spectrum where you must post process every tape!