12-27-2021, 08:40 AM
Premium Member

I have started a project to digitalize home movies on VHS, VHS-C and MiniDV.
Camera used are consumer cameras and the quality of movies is not great due to the cameras used, tapes available and context of scenes
such as low light and that i am an amateur.
So to diffuse these movies i decided to put them on a DVD (720 X 480 4:3 format) due to the fact most people have a DVD player and
i think that these files cannot be upscaled to 4K with good quality.

My goal is to archive the tapes to a digital format that can be processed later.
Actually all tapes (except MiniDV wich are trasferred) have been captured using VirtualDub as HuffUV (V2) and tranfered to a HDD.
My workflow: Pana AG-1060 => Pana DMR-ES-15 => AVT8710 (Green ) => ATI AIW (AGP) on Win XP SP2.
Doing this capture, i think that i have digital files as close as possible to what's on the tape.

About DVD transfer. I have 1 PC computer on windows 10 and possibly 1 computer on win XP or win 7. But i'd prefer to work on Win 10.
Before to burn DVD, i have to:
-Restore files when needed. I have already submitted worst files on this forum and some improvement can be done.
-Edit captured files
-Encode files to MPEG-2 for DVD or H264 for Blueray.
-Authoring before burning DVD.

What i want to do is to acquire the softwares to encode captured AVI files and to author files before to burn DVD.
I will work on restoration after being able to burn files on DVD.
Being on windows 10 i need advice on Editing and Encoding software (freeware or payware) for MPEG-2 and maybe H264.
I need advice for an authoring software capable to burn DVD (and maybe Blu ray). I plan to buy Abode Premiere Element for authoring.

Other question, is there a way to put metadata with captured AVI files?
I have attached a description of files using mediainfo.File info AGP-14.JPG

Regards and thanks in advance.
Jacques

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-28-2021, 06:25 AM
Free Member