Quantcast ATI All In Wonder Hacks, Drivers, Codecs and MMC - Page 4 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #61  
02-22-2012, 11:00 AM
MemphisMike MemphisMike is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Guys:

I've just started having problems with my All-in-Wonder Radeon (7200) AGP card. I originally used Windows 2000 and upgraded to XP (and added Ubuntu) a couple of years later. I've used this thing for watching TV/cable, VHS, games, graphics, Office, Facebook, Youtube, Skype. You name it. It has worked great for all these years. Now I'm starting to have problems with things that seem to be related to flash-video, like Youtube and Skype. I'm thinking I may need to roll-back some of the software updates.

I remember the removal tool and install sequence mentioned by Lord Smurf, but it has been a while since I've needed to use them. I still have two of the old ATI setup CDs. The first CD, I originally used with Windows 2000 is labeled 180-V01036-100. The 2nd CD, I ordered when I upgraded to XP is labeled 180-G01445-100.

I should probably wipe the hard drive and re-install Windows XP, but I want to be sure I use the best setup for this card. So I'm wondering if I should use the 2nd CD or download from the files listed above. Which versions work best with this AGP AIW Radeon card and Windows XP?

Good to see you guys have kept this information alive! Thanks, -Mike
Reply With Quote
The following users thank MemphisMike for this useful post: admin (03-05-2012)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #62  
02-22-2012, 02:05 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
You can install Hydravision, but it won't matter -- you won't use it. (And it won't mess up anything.)
Feel free to leave it or remove it.
To anybody that know this below...

When I choose personalize installation with ATI CD I get "check" under

1.WDM NSP Drivers
2.ATI control Panel
3.ATI decoder
4.Direct X
5.Catalyst Control Center (this one I know that I have to uncheck)
6.Mutimedia Center 9.X
7.AuthorsScript
8.ATI Remote Wonder ( I doubt that I will have to use the remote!?)
9.GuidePlus+

Can you give me what I don't need! I don't want install stuff that risk to create problem. This computer will be strictly dedicated to capture...

I have Windows XP pro SP2.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #63  
02-23-2012, 01:15 PM
MemphisMike MemphisMike is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mejnour View Post
...Can you give me what I don't need! I don't want install stuff that risk to create problem. This computer will be strictly dedicated to capture...
Mejnour: Here's what I know about 2 of them...

(7) AuthorScript -- I believe was supposed to be an easy way to burn a disc of video that you had captured to your library. Not sure if it is still useful these days.

(9) GuidePlus+ -- was a TV-Guide type of service. It worked pretty well back in the analog TV days. Not sure if that would work at all today.

I personally would not install either of these.

...hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank MemphisMike for this useful post: admin (03-05-2012)
  #64  
02-24-2012, 09:47 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemphisMike View Post
Mejnour: Here's what I know about 2 of them...

(7) AuthorScript -- I believe was supposed to be an easy way to burn a disc of video that you had captured to your library. Not sure if it is still useful these days.

(9) GuidePlus+ -- was a TV-Guide type of service. It worked pretty well back in the analog TV days. Not sure if that would work at all today.

I personally would not install either of these.

...hope this helps.
Thanks for the info Mike!

I guess I can remove those one from my list. I am doing of lot of computer stuff recently on parallel projects and got headhaches with hardware, I don't wanna have some more by installing unwanted drivers...
Reply With Quote
  #65  
02-29-2012, 09:03 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Bump!

The pros seem busy!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
03-05-2012, 12:19 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Yep, bit of a delay in answering some posts.

Also, thanks for your posts, MemphisMike.

Install:
1. WDM drivers
2. ATI control panel
5. Catalyst Control Center
6. Mutimedia Center 9

Don't Install:
3. ATI decoder
4. DirectX
7. AuthorsScript
8. ATI Remote Wonder ( I doubt that I will have to use the remote!?)
9. GuidePlus+


Going off memory, ATI decoder is for the DVD player software -- unnecessary.
GuidePlus useless in post-analog era.
Remote Wonder doesn't matter if not using a remote, which most VHS>digital users will not.
AuthorScript is for something -- I forget, not important
DirectX is likely already at version 9 or better on a Windows XP SP1-SP2 computer anyway. So this is redundant.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: Mejnour (03-05-2012)
  #67  
03-05-2012, 12:23 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemphisMike View Post
All-in-Wonder Radeon (7200) AGP card. ...
So I'm wondering if I should use the 2nd CD or download from the files listed above. Which versions work best with this AGP AIW Radeon card and Windows XP?
Use the files -- specifically the 1st/2nd/3rd/4th/etc "in order" 6168 drivers.
The first post is 7200-8500 cards. The latter CD ISO images are for the various 9000 series cards.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
03-08-2012, 04:37 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Hi Again,

ATI MULTIMEDIA CENTER contains many functions, wich one I need to install (check)

1-CD AUDIO
2-GALLERY
3-TV
4-VIDEO CD
5-LAUNCH PAD
6-FILE PLAYER
7-MEDIA LIBRARY
8-DVD
9-FM RADIO
10-EASYSHARE
Reply With Quote
  #69  
03-08-2012, 07:11 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Install:
3-TV

Don't Install:
1-CD AUDIO
2-GALLERY
4-VIDEO CD
5-LAUNCH PAD
6-FILE PLAYER
7-MEDIA LIBRARY
8-DVD
10-EASYSHARE

Optional:
9-FM RADIO

I leave the radio because I'll sometimes listen to NPR or the classical music station while doing non-capture work on the computer.
It's a nifty extra feature, if the card has the hardware for it.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
03-08-2012, 07:17 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
thanks I am going to install it right now...don't go too far
Reply With Quote
  #71  
03-08-2012, 07:53 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mejnour View Post
don't go too far
Thanks to the upgrades made to the servers and site in December, we never are.

We see posts almost immediately. Though sometimes it takes a few days to get around to answering.
And then prioritized between Free and Premium, of course.
Some of us even have phone alerts!

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
03-08-2012, 08:03 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Okay Huffy codecs are in

Looking at capturing guides...

Do you suggest VirtualDub or ATI AIW dock to capture with the X800XT?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #73  
03-08-2012, 10:05 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
- VirtualDub for AVI.
- ATI MMC for MPEG-2.

Guides are listed here: http://www.digitalFAQ.com/guides/video.htm

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #74  
03-29-2012, 08:46 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,031
Thanked 317 Times in 259 Posts
Well, I just got done doing battle with ATI AIW drivers, I haven't done this in at least 8 years now.

Anyway, here is the deal. The drivers that come built into Windows XP for the AIW 9600XT actually work fine for capture in VirtualDub surprisingly enough. As for the latest drivers on AMD's site, they seem to work too, just not with MMC 8.8 (you can view, but not capture). They seem to allow direct audio capture from the Theater 200 chip as opposed to the soundcard loop-through in VirtualDub, which could be handy and possibly avoid audio sync issues. The capture portion appears to Windows completely differently with the Catalyst 10.4 drivers... only one device called "T200 Streamer" vs. the half dozen devices of the older driver. I think the later PCIe cards use the same drivers and capture without the sound card loop back.

Right now I'm running the drivers off of the MMC 8.8 CD that was posted here. It seems to be working well, no complaints. I'll play with the newer drivers again tomorrow and report back. What version of MMC dropped VideoSoap? I might try a newer version and see if they behave with the newer AIW drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
03-30-2012, 10:02 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,475
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJRoadfan View Post
They seem to allow direct audio capture from the Theater 200 chip as opposed to the soundcard loop-through
The Theatre 200 chipset, as far as I'm aware, doesn't encode audio. There's also the underlying issue of actually getting the audio signal into it, which I don't think happens. The analog audio input is immediately routed to an audio card when input to the computer via the breakout box (purple/domino ATI input wire). Audio never passes into or through the Theatre chipsets.

Are you sure the audio isn't just wired internally?
Refer to this thread: No sound on ATI All In Wonder capture?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
03-31-2012, 01:45 AM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,031
Thanked 317 Times in 259 Posts
The audio isn't wired internally, as I just built this machine. I don't think the AIW 9600XT even has the internal audio header like my original AIW had (edit: yes it does, I missed that). I was surprised to see the "Capture Device" audio input option in VirtualDub when using the newer "T200 Unified Streamer" driver. I might have time to play with it tomorrow, I'm certainly curious if the Theater 200 could do audio. In the end, I will likely be bypassing the AIW loop-thru as I think my audio output cable has a flaky plug... that or the SB Live I picked out of a Dell I have sitting here has a troublesome input jack. Hopefully I don't run into audio sync issues with this rig... I'll be pretty ticked off. At least it doesn't drop any frames... even when capturing to the old tech 120GB PATA hard drive thats in the machine now using HuffYUV.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-01-2012)
  #77  
04-01-2012, 07:03 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,475
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
For some ATI AIW card, externally wired loopback is the only option -- an internal wiring isn't available. You may need to test this, too, and don't just assume the audio works because VirtualDub reports it as available. VirtualDub (and lots of other capturing programs) can be wrong. I've seen ATI cards that refuse to work in VirtualDub at all, but it's a confused computer -- not actually the fault of VirtualDub. It's the drivers reporting bad information, or the OS.

Even if it does audio, it may be limited to coax input, for the intended analog TV reception. It may not work on composite or s-video.

Definitely test it, and report back. I know I'm curious.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
09-14-2012, 03:32 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,242
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
Added by request: ATI MMC 9.10

To my knowledge, this is the last ATI MMC compatible with the AGP Radeon cards. Latter 9.1.x were for the PCI-E cards.
Downloads for ATI MMC 9.14 and 9.16 are on page 3 of this thread, in post #48.

Again, as per earlier posts, ATI MMC 8.7, 8.8 and 9.02 are the most suggested ATI MMC versions, for most PCI and AGP cards.
For the PCI-E cards, use ATI MMC 9.16.
This version is being added purely due to requests for testing purposes.


Attached Files
File Type: rar ATI-MMC-9.1.0.rar (26.43 MB, 83 downloads)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
09-21-2012, 08:50 PM
Dravial Dravial is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi! Great thread here, spent two days googling for something with information like this >_<

I have come upon an ATI AIW 9700 Pro 128M card. I tried installing it on my own (lol...) and it seems the card works, but it is having some issues. After reading a lot of information over the past couple days, half of which I got here in the last hour, I have a few questions:

The card is 9700 Pro, and I saw a list you had earlier in the thread that this is a PAL card, I want to make sure this will not cause a conflict for me 'out of the box'.

Second, I have none of the wires for this as you have described, I have only the card itself, and again I want to make sure this will not cause a conflict for me 'out of the box'.

Third, When I installed, I went to support.amd.com I believe, and used their auto detector to configure, which it told me to use catalyst 10.2 blah blah I installed it, then I noticed I had 'sketchy' graphics when I moved a window around etc. then I noticed I still had an unknown device in device manager. I dl'ed the wdm drivers 10.2 after that, and it seemed to fix the problem. Only 10-15 minutes later (give or take) the screen started freezing, and then appeared to reset, as it turned black for a second, and then came back and seemed fine until it repeated 30-45 seconds later. It did this a few times and rebooted itself. At this point I uninstalled it and re-installed my radeon 9550se and went back to google. And now I am here. And if you haven't laughed your arse out of your seat by now, maybe you can help inform me on my 10 year old card!

I will start by dl'ing the 180 iso you have for it, and seeing if there is a manual! I can't believe after 2 days I cant even find a manual online for this thing... it's like ATI/AMD made it so this thing never existed...

PS: I have P4 2.26Ghz on a MS-6788 board w/ 865pe chipset with 1.5GB pc3200 and the card is AGP on WinXP SP3

Last edited by Dravial; 09-21-2012 at 08:53 PM. Reason: cpu info...
Reply With Quote
  #80  
09-22-2012, 02:44 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,475
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dravial View Post
this is a PAL card
In the ATI All In Wonder Radeon series, there are no "PAL" or "NTSC" cards. Only the now-useless analog tuner was PAL or NTSC. Since digital transmissions have essentially replaced all analog transmissions, discussion of the tuner is now a moot point. All ATI AIW cards capture PAL, NTSC and SECAM via s-video and composite inputs. So don't worry about PAL or NTSC, as it's not a real issue.

Quote:
Second, I have none of the wires for this as you have described, I have only the card itself, and again I want to make sure this will not cause a conflict for me 'out of the box'.
If all you have is the card, then you're missing the hardware required to be able to capture analog video. While some of those inputs may look like s-video connections, they are not. Those are indeed DIN connectors, but used for the connective hardware that you're missing. You must have the purple/domino breakout dongle. And you'll either need a 4-pin auxiliary audio cable for internal wiring, of the loopback cable for external wiring. Some of the ATI AIW cards also require a VGA/DVI bundle, otherwise you won't have anything to plug a monitor into.

You can always type in "ATI purple" or "ATI domino" at eBay.com for the first wire.
For example, a current purple auction: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATI-Purple-C...item1c2b5c67f4
Or a domino for $5 shipped: http://www.ebay.com/itm/All-in-Wonde...item27c3f516a0

The input block is easy to find, and generally cheap. It's the other wires that are a pain to locate without having to buy another card (or several cards) to acquire. I do see one loopback wire currently on auction here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATI-All-in-W...item4837dc27e2

Note: Because some of these auctions linked on this post will be gone in about 30-90 days (I forget how quickly the closed auctions cache expires), I've attached some swiped images from those auctions to this post, so that others in the future can see what these wires look like. Also note that Site Staff have photographed wires in greater detail in other threads on the site, some of which have been linked to earlier in this thread.

Quote:
Third, When I installed, I went to support.amd.com I believe, and used their auto detector to configure, which it told me to use catalyst 10.2 blah blah I installed it, then I noticed I had 'sketchy' graphics when I moved a window around etc. then I noticed I still had an unknown device in device manager. I dl'ed the wdm drivers 10.2 after that, and it seemed to fix the problem. Only 10-15 minutes later (give or take) the screen started freezing, and then appeared to reset, as it turned black for a second, and then came back and seemed fine until it repeated 30-45 seconds later. It did this a few times and rebooted itself. At this point I uninstalled it and re-installed my radeon 9550se and went back to google. And now I am here. And if you haven't laughed your arse out of your seat by now, maybe you can help inform me on my 10 year old card! .... PS: I have P4 2.26Ghz on a MS-6788 board w/ 865pe chipset with 1.5GB pc3200 and the card is AGP on WinXP SP3
This all sounds like a driver issue. Rather than using the drivers on the AMD site, use the drivers provided here. Start with the 9000-series CD ISO. See where that gets you. In most cases, it's going to install just fine. I've used it on 9000, 9200, 9600 and 9800 cards without issue.

It could also be SP3 causing problems. That service pack was disgraceful with the amount of damage it caused to Windows XP. SP2 was honestly the best version of Windows XP. All SP3 did was add faux "security" junk, to make it act more like Vista -- which is by no coincidence one of the most hated aspects of Vista (and later removed in Windows 7).

Finally, it could be cooling issues. Be sure the card isn't overheating.

Quote:
I will start by dl'ing the 180 iso you have for it, and seeing if there is a manual! I can't believe after 2 days I cant even find a manual online for this thing... it's like ATI/AMD made it so this thing never existed...
I have a printed manual in my drawer. However, it doesn't tell you anything. That's why I've never wasted the time to scan it, and upload it as a PDF. It's about 25 pages of useless crap. It says nothing about drivers, ATI MMC, etc. It's mostly diagrams of the hardware, instructions on how to plugin in cables, and other nonsense than a 5-year-old would understand without even needing to see the manual.

Having the manual would just waste your time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dravial View Post
Hi! Great thread here, spent two days googling for something with information like this >_<
I'm somewhat disappointed that this isn't ranking higher in Google, if it took that long to find it. I'd be curious what terms/phrases you had been using that failed to show results. (By simply listing them here, you'll potentially help others in finding this site, because Google will then index this site as containing those phrases. Or so I'd hope.)


Attached Images
File Type: jpg ati-input-block-domino.jpg (15.8 KB, 72 downloads)
File Type: jpg ati-input-block-purple.jpg (8.4 KB, 64 downloads)
File Type: jpg ati-loopback-wires.jpg (11.1 KB, 81 downloads)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 32/64-bit HuffYUV codecs concurrently in Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit vtak4 Edit Video, Audio 2 08-27-2011 07:29 PM
Pioneer DVR-103 / DVR-A03 firmware hacks [archived] lordsmurf Blank Media 1 02-16-2010 05:19 AM
Various ATI MMC registry hacks admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 09:23 AM
ATI MMC registry volume hacks admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 08:17 AM
What are the best codecs to install ? jrnyhead Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 04-28-2004 03:40 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM