#1  
04-04-2022, 05:26 PM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello everyone!

I have started to make my first captures with VirtualDub using the HuffYUV codec, the quality and everything is fine, only that the audio desynchronizes from the video after a few minutes, If I change the timing settings it has happened that the audio slows down to adapt to the video.

I'm using Huffyuv 2.1.1 - CCESP Patch 0.2.2. I have tried a thousand combinations in this timing tab and none of them are satisfactory, I don't know if the problem can come from somewhere else.

This is my timing configuration: https://gyazo.com/02b7cdb91c16e1599be7c3e15895d879

This is my setup: JVC HR-S3900U > Panasonic DMR-ES15 > ATI TV Wonder HD 600 USB > Windows 7 64 Bits > VirtualDub 1.9.11

This is my computer:

Intel i7 4790K
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1866 PC3-14900 2x8GB
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 WindForce 3X OC 4GB GDDR5
Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Seagate 3TB HDD

Thanks to everyone!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-04-2022, 06:03 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,012
Thanked 2,194 Times in 1,889 Posts
- What card?
- Attach images to the forum, do not hotlink.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-04-2022, 06:11 PM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry. You mean capture card? I have ATI 600 USB.

I’m thinking to buy this computer, what you think?

Intel Pentium 4 3.0GHz
AsRock 775i65G
Kingston 2x1GB DDR400
Maxtor 80GB (OS)
Seagate 2TB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-04-2022, 06:54 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Here's the image from the link, properly attached. I hope my PC didn't catch anything from that site!

KhAoS182 settings:
KhAoS182 VDub Timing Options.png

My settings:
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Quote:
Originally Posted by KhAoS182 View Post
This is my setup: JVC HR-S3900U > Panasonic DMR-ES15 > ATI TV Wonder HD 600 USB > Windows 7 64 Bits > VirtualDub 1.9.11
[...]
Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Seagate 3TB HDD
Does VDub report any dropped or inserted frames for these captures that desync?


Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-04-2022, 09:06 PM
thestarswitcher thestarswitcher is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 79
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
As long as you have a TBC active in the chain, I have "Correct video timing..." off and leave it checked on Disable Resync- since the TBC is handling the sync. With a reliable capture card, it'll be good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-04-2022, 09:46 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestarswitcher View Post
As long as you have a TBC active in the chain, I have "Correct video timing..." off
For my most frequently used HDMI capture card, "Correct video timing" prevents a few inserts that always appear at the very start of the capture when it's disabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestarswitcher View Post
leave it checked on Disable Resync- since the TBC is handling the sync.
In my screenshot, it's already manually disabled by the "Do not resync" radio button above, so I don't feel the need to check the Auto Disable box.

Last edited by msgohan; 04-04-2022 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-05-2022, 02:10 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
Here's the image from the link, properly attached. I hope my PC didn't catch anything from that site!

KhAoS182 settings:
Attachment 14997

My settings:
Attachment 14998


Does VDub report any dropped or inserted frames for these captures that desync?
No… 0 Dropoed or inserted frames
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-05-2022, 02:12 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
- what card?
- attach images to the forum, do not hotlink.
ATI 600 usb
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-05-2022, 04:05 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KhAoS182 View Post
No… 0 Dropoed or inserted frames
What happens if you try my settings instead?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-05-2022, 05:41 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
What happens if you try my settings instead?
Today I will try your settings, thanks.

Why is necessary the "Force audio clock when audio playback is enabled" ?

Once the capture is finished (I will do it with a 30-minute tape) I have to check the audio is synchronized to the video and the audio doesn't slow down to adapt to the video.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
04-05-2022, 06:05 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KhAoS182 View Post
Why is necessary the "Force audio clock when audio playback is enabled" ?
You can skip that if you want. You should always disable Audio Preview in VDub while capturing anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
04-05-2022, 06:38 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
You can skip that if you want. You should always disable Audio Preview in VDub while capturing anyway.
Two days ago I tried the "Do not resync" option and the audio slowed down somewhere in the capture.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
04-05-2022, 07:37 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
You do have Audio -> Enable audio playback disabled, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
04-05-2022, 07:39 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
You do have Audio -> Enable audio playback disabled, correct?
Yes! Is disabled. Is there an option that has to be enabled and disabled outside VirtualDub?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
04-05-2022, 10:23 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Troubleshooting step:
Assuming the DMR-ES15's DVD drive works, play back a disc and capture that instead of capturing VHS. This will at least eliminate one variable: the generated analog signal while playing the DVD will for sure be up to standard.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio sync problem trying digitize VHS tapes? Teo97_P4 Capture, Record, Transfer 7 02-23-2022 07:40 AM
Audio sync problem in DVDWS2? (Ulead DVD Workshop) colony Encode, Convert for discs 2 04-08-2019 07:20 AM
JVC DVHS HM-DH40000U sync problem? nesburf Video Hardware Repair 10 02-05-2018 07:31 AM
AGC problem but good sync--copy protection? bever Capture, Record, Transfer 3 06-05-2017 09:45 AM
ATI/Creative Audio/Video sync problem Edye Capture, Record, Transfer 4 11-21-2004 03:12 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM