#1  
02-23-2024, 04:50 PM
uselessunderstanding uselessunderstanding is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello & Good Day,
I am testing out a Pinnacle 510-USB rev 2.0 for my upcoming home video project on Windows 10 and I am using Virtual Dub 1.9.11 with the filters aka Lord Smurf's VirtualDub from this site. I have the Crossbar Thing software installed and the device drivers and I am able to switch from composite to s-video. It connected to a JVC SR-VS30 deck. Virtual Dub is set to preview and not overlay, When I try to playback in the preview window, I get a double image that jumps and can be seen here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1RqB...ew?usp=sharing
This happens on both composite and s-video. Thanks for any thoughts in advance!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-23-2024, 05:27 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,654
Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
This happens if formats setting (PAL, NTSC, etc) are set wrong.

- capture filter/pin
- main window, lower right, fps
- capture > video > custom resolution may be needed, 720x480 (NTSC) or x576 (PAL)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-24-2024, 08:48 AM
uselessunderstanding uselessunderstanding is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
This happens if formats setting (PAL, NTSC, etc) are set wrong.

- capture filter/pin
- main window, lower right, fps
- capture > video > custom resolution may be needed, 720x480 (NTSC) or x576 (PAL)

The capture filter is set to NTSC_M and the capture pin video standard is NTSC_M with a frame rate of 29.970. When I change the output size to 720 x 480 the issue goes away but the video slows down to the point where it's almost like a slide show. I tested the other resolutions:
352x240 Image issue
704x480 No image issue but slows down to slide show
480x480 No Image issue or slow down but square picture because of size
352x480 No Image issue or slow down but vertical rectangle image because of size
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-24-2024, 09:34 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,654
Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
Audio preview disabled for testing?
OS in use?
Graphics card? (Nvidia?)
What happens if trying the various preview "acceleration" (not really) modes?

VirtualDub2 may need testing, pending above.

It's not the hardware (Pinnacle), or the software (VirtualDub). It's the settings, or the OS, or other hardware conflicts. It's just a matter of tracing, and compensating.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-25-2024, 07:49 AM
uselessunderstanding uselessunderstanding is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Audio preview disabled for testing?
OS in use?
Graphics card? (Nvidia?)
What happens if trying the various preview "acceleration" (not really) modes?

VirtualDub2 may need testing, pending above.

It's not the hardware (Pinnacle), or the software (VirtualDub). It's the settings, or the OS, or other hardware conflicts. It's just a matter of tracing, and compensating.
Audio is disabled for the preview.
It's on Windows 10
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 with 6gb dedicated memory (Laptop)

VirtualDub 2 gave me the same result in the 32bit version and in the 64bit version it would not respond and it ended up crashing every time I would try to switch settings. I can try to track down an borrow an old XP computer from a friend so I can better compare the OS/settings issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-23-2024, 09:21 AM
uselessunderstanding uselessunderstanding is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here is my update. I manage to track down and old Dell laptop. It's back to a fresh install of XP. Specs are Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 @ 2.16hz and 2.00Gb of ram. Everything is installed I have the crossbar set on s-video. Capture pin is on 720x480 and 29.970. It's set to preview and VCR Input is checked by default. When audio is disabled I get between 0 and 4 fps. When I enable audio I get between 14 and 25 fps. If I drop the output size to 480x480 and below with the audio on it gives me 30 fps with it off and start to dip again.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changed to Pinnacle 710 in VirtualDub? DG1965 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 09-05-2022 04:51 PM
Pinnacle on VirtualDub crashes my OS? andrewprjnn1 Capture, Record, Transfer 11 03-09-2021 09:31 PM
Win10 Pinnacle-710: No s-video preview in VirtualDub? BruceOlsen Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-02-2020 12:01 AM
ATI MMC vs. VirtualDub, Huffyuv? Pinnacle vs ATI? SinghDk Capture, Record, Transfer 11 05-02-2015 04:07 AM
Double-image pillarboxing on Umatic/VHS transfers? Winsordawson General Discussion 2 03-07-2015 09:16 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM