Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
07-23-2013, 07:38 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Hi Lordsmurf,

I spotted this on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/231017903283...#ht_353wt_1125

I don't want to get burnt like with ATI USB 650. So the question I have whether this is a decent card which can do Huffyuv AVI and in which I can adjust gain manually in its proc amp (i.e. there's no AGC). Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-23-2013, 07:38 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
I've never seen an AGC issue with the 600, only the 650.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-23-2013, 07:38 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
So basically with this one I can adjust gain manually so that I don't see white smear, right? If that's the case, I am going to go for it. Just don't post it in forums so that no competitions. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-23-2013, 07:39 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
I'll post the Q&A after you win it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-23-2013, 07:39 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Wait, wait, wait.... So is un-greying those controls doable within VirtualDub?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
07-23-2013, 07:40 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
What controls?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
07-23-2013, 07:40 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
In this thread:
ATI 600 USB 2.0 Calibration & Test Patterns

It says:
Quote:
Why is the following greyed out in the ATI 600 USB 2.0 proc amp dialog: gamma, white balance, back-light comp, gain? Why are the 'auto' check boxes also greyed out?
So the question I have is that is it possible to tweak the settings to make these controls (gamma, balance etc) functional (not greyed out)? I.e. AGC will be off.

Basically what I want to say is that if there's no AGC on 600, then gain can be controlled manually, correct? Can this be achieved and how?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
07-23-2013, 07:41 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
The gain is fixed.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
07-23-2013, 07:41 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Ok, I see. Thank you. Is there any tweak that gain can be altered? AGC captures suffer from too much white smear (noise). But with this fixed gain if it can't be altered, is it also the case?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
07-23-2013, 07:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
The white "smear" is excess luma, screwing up the IRE.
No this doesn't have that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: archivarious (09-17-2020)
  #11  
07-23-2013, 07:42 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Thanks. Another question. Does it work with VirtualDub? USB 650 didn't work with VirtualDub.

If it does work with VirtualDub, can I just install the drivers only without this Catalyst software.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
07-23-2013, 07:46 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
Moved the topic here, out of PMs. Remember, tech talk in forums -- not PMs. Don't have to repeat myself that way.

The 600 -- not the 650 (typo?) -- is a good card, and captures both PAL and NTSC as AVI (Huffyuv suggested) in VirtualDub. One of the systems here has 6 DVD burners, 4TB of space, a JVC NTSC and JVC PAL plugged into it, a ton of software -- and an ATI 600 USB card that's been great for us since 2009. No issues with it whatsoever.

You don't have to use ATI CMC unless you want to do NTSC MPEG capturing.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: archivarious (09-17-2020), metaleonid (08-25-2013)
  #13  
08-25-2013, 08:33 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Thanks lordsmurf. ATI 600 USB is indeed great. From now on I will be using it for S-Video captures exclusively.

Now is ATI 550 Theater Pro just as good and doesn't have AGC issues 650 has? Anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
08-25-2013, 08:37 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,309
Thanked 2,271 Times in 1,943 Posts
Difference hardware, different era, not a good card.

I don't remember if it has AGC issues, but I know it had problems. This card is from 2005 or so. It was a first generation post-Radeon AIW, and it was lousy. The 600 was good, then it was lousy again with the 650-750. I think ATI quit making capture cards now. It's just a brand now, anyway -- AMD is the real company behind the curtain. It was good when ATI owned ATI.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: metaleonid (08-25-2013)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good compatable USB hub that works with card reader? Sossity Computers 3 02-11-2018 06:21 AM
ATI 550/650 card and native AVI in VirtualDub/MMC dianedebuda Capture, Record, Transfer 1 07-25-2014 02:53 AM
VirtualDub timing options? Frame drops with ATI 600 PCI card? frank_aspen Capture, Record, Transfer 18 01-14-2013 09:19 PM
Overheating issues with nVidia Geforce 9600 GS graphics card! dyfan Computers 7 08-26-2012 05:05 PM
VirtualDub is not able to detect a capture card / line in? Mejnour Project Planning, Workflows 0 04-27-2012 03:23 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM