#1  
03-01-2008, 10:11 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Guys, I've been using mpeg-vcr to edit my shows I record with my DVD recorders but as of late I've been having a problem. It edits fine, it just it takes forever to save the file to a folder or I get a running time error and it stops.

Any ideas, I've runn my spyware and anti0virus programs and nothing shows up. I've did a disc clean up and defrag my harddrive and still have the same problem. Any ideas or suggestions of what the problem might be?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-01-2008, 10:28 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
odd. i havnt had that problem yet. how are you using it?

i just use dvd decrypter to make the episode/vob file in IFO settings. then drag and drop the vob in the program and remove commercials and then hit the pink/yellow looking pill button and save it. only takes like 30 seconds to save 23min episode.

maybe you need more ram? or who knows
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-01-2008, 02:34 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
That's pretty much what I do or I'll use Nero, edit and save to folder. It's strange something is interfering with the program. I decided to use Video Redo and I'm surprised ay how fast it is! So, I guess I'm using Video Redo for now!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-01-2008, 02:55 PM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I ve had no problem with mpg vcr. Like Rickas said takes no time at all. Did you use the tool function to check your files for errors? could be the file Not MPG VCR. Or Mpeg video Wizard, Or Video redo, Or tmpeg. Pretty much anything but Nero. lol. I dont even use it to burn discs with lol To each his own.




Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-03-2008, 06:05 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Never did find out what is going on with Mpeg-vcr, I've just started using Video Redo. It is a little bit more cumbersome than Mpeg-VCR, but it is more exact and results are good.

You know I've tried to use Decryptor on IFo mode to extract an mpeg and my results have been mixed. Sometimes it works for me and it shows the whole show has been extracted but I can't seem to edit it. It is like the first part of the show that was on before the ep I wanted is the only part I can get to. I wish there were some other programs beside Decryptor or Nero I could use to extract and edit the shows I record off of my DVD recorders. Any suggestions???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-03-2008, 07:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,163
Thanked 2,246 Times in 1,929 Posts
Womble MPEG Video Wizard would be my second choice after MPEG-VCR.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-03-2008, 10:33 AM
padre2 padre2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by MagnificentMarcus

Never did find out what is going on with Mpeg-vcr, I've just started using Video Redo. It is a little bit more cumbersome than Mpeg-VCR, but it is more exact and results are good.

You know I've tried to use Decryptor on IFo mode to extract an mpeg and my results have been mixed. Sometimes it works for me and it shows the whole show has been extracted but I can't seem to edit it. It is like the first part of the show that was on before the ep I wanted is the only part I can get to. I wish there were some other programs beside Decryptor or Nero I could use to extract and edit the shows I record off of my DVD recorders. Any suggestions???
Do you have TMPGenc DVD Author? I use that to extract tracks to mpegs, works great. You just do the "Source" option, pick a directory and the file it builds is an mpeg2 file. The older (pre-1.6) version had some synch issues, but I've not seen it in recent releases.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-04-2008, 12:51 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
When I had this issue, the easiest way to fix it is to blow your image back down onto your machine. If you don't take images of your machine, then rebuild it. Typically the problem is deeper than simply uninstalling and reinstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
03-07-2008, 12:59 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
is it possible womble was actually re-encoding your clips instead of the simple join?


Also if you go with wombles mpeg video wizard dvd, it can frameserve to others apps. If you do add effects or anything else you do not have to fear with using wombles crap encoder. I used it a few times and frameserved directly to tmpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
03-07-2008, 02:56 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Blow your image back, re-encoding?? What are you guys talking about? All I was doing was editing a show that I had recorded with my DVD recorder. I've done it hundreds of times and never had a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
03-08-2008, 08:10 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Strange, I just re-installed Mpeg-Vcr and it works fine now. Although, it has always taken me about 3 minutes to save an hour show. I really surprised to hear it only takes some people about 30 seconds to save a 1/2 hour show.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
03-08-2008, 10:27 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MM from your description of the problem it sounded as if for some reasom womble was re-encoding your clips, but seeing as you did a fresh install again, something must have corrupted the original program
Reply With Quote
  #13  
03-09-2008, 04:44 AM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Or some program or spyware was conflicting with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Womble wobbles admin Edit Video, Audio 2 05-05-2009 08:27 AM
Editing with Womble MPEG Video Wizard [VIDEO GUIDE] admin Edit Video, Audio 12 03-05-2009 10:39 AM
Audio sync problems with Womble MPEG2VCR mlaviolette Edit Video, Audio 3 10-14-2006 11:53 AM
Problem with opening Mpeg-2 file with TMPGEnc Plus MBates05 Encode, Convert for discs 4 07-19-2005 05:51 PM
Audio editing using Womble MPEG Video Wiz jrnyhead Encode, Convert for discs 3 02-08-2004 12:40 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM