#1  
06-07-2006, 04:59 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
peeps,

have got a dot-dashed line at the top left hand side of my capture.

is "masking" the way to remove it?
i.e. tmpgenc black mask method?

and is this the quickest method as i don't want to spend ages re-encoding the capture?

ta for advise in advance.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-08-2006, 10:44 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
You have to mask with a re-encode. It's just overscan anyway, won't show up on tv. That is the visual noise created by closed captions. It appears on pretty much all tv signals. I would just leave it alone, you won't see it on tv anyway.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-08-2006, 11:30 AM
debwalsh debwalsh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA.
Posts: 58
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, you can. I'm the one who pointed it out on the test disc MT sent me - the image is letterboxed widescreen on my normal TV (circa 1991), and the stuttering white line is very distracting. Image quality is lovely but it's bracketed by this great honkin' line.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-08-2006, 02:49 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
In that case you will have to re-encode, howeever it sounds as if it was taken from either an HD feed or was not broadcast correctly because on a proper HD set or proper broadcast you would not see that line since its "NOT" supposed to be seen, I know because I have HD and non HD and I only see that stuff when I watch HD stuff on the non-HD tv since it shows the overscan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-08-2006, 04:13 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
HD broadcasts should not show CC noise at all. So I don't know what went on there.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-08-2006, 04:36 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
They do show it if it is not decoded correctly (meaning you have the HDTV box but a regular TV) or the show is being broadcast on an HD channel but was not recorded in HD

I can show you through some screencaps if you want to see more
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-08-2006, 04:38 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
2 points:

[1] these are recordings direct from over the air digital to my jvc dvd recorder on xp setting. maybe tv comepanies over here are not sending out signals correctly? and as far as i know, it not HD.

[2] okay, regardless, i have to re-encode. so be it.

i thank you for the advise, for giving it to me (sung to tune of abba's thank you for the music...)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-08-2006, 04:45 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I would wager anything the tv company is sending out the signal wrong, GR1 and I were talking about that several times. As the tv companies switch to HD standard programming they sometimes mess up regular signals.

At times they crop wrong, the audio can come through messed up as well. Seen it alot while switching from HD to regular, its a network issue.

But glad we could help in telling you that basically you have to re-encode lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-08-2006, 07:53 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
okay, before i completely butcher the capture, what settings do i use for tmpgenc? do i leave everything as default bar the masking?

any site(s) that show a join-the-dots steps?

debs, did you call me MT ... empty?!

reminds me of when i was at university. had a class where lecturer had written M to the power T as part of an equation.

he called a mate of mine to the front and was quizzing him on the equation and in doing so asked, "What is MT?"

quick as a flash, someone else volunteered, "His head!". beautiful!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-08-2006, 08:14 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Be sure to mask 2 lines at a time.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
06-08-2006, 10:00 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
err sorry love smurf .. wot dos mask 2 lines at a time mean? in spanglish please. me fikko.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
06-08-2006, 10:42 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
ccmask-tmpgenc.jpg

In 2's, pairs, even numbers.
Not odd, singles.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macrovision removal filter for $20 [SOLD] lordsmurf Marketplace 7 02-24-2007 05:25 AM
Look2Me bug removal, antivirus won't delete malware cp32 Computers 0 10-05-2006 04:16 PM
Video censor (blur) removal stoogedog Edit Video, Audio 6 07-20-2006 02:47 AM
DVD cleaners, scratch removal kits? WEW3 Blank Media 1 07-08-2005 10:00 AM
Snow Removal couldbe Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 03-22-2004 10:58 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM