#1  
03-31-2023, 04:28 AM
badonica badonica is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,

Just wondered if someone has a pic of a workflow incorporating the ES10 with respect to connections

my set up would be I think if I got it right?

JVS Player (s video out) to ES10 (would it be s video into ES10) what leads would output from the ES10 to capture device (s video or component?)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-31-2023, 08:53 AM
Xhumeka Xhumeka is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Posts: 34
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, you have it right. You will need 2 S-Video cables, and 4 RCA/composite cables (Red/White audio).

JVS Player
OUT
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

ES10 (assuming using line 1 input on rear, select INPUT on your remote and change to Input 1 (INI1))
INPUT 1 (connect cables from your JVS)
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

OUTPUT (to your capture device - assuming it has S-Video Inputs)
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

If your capture card has only component inputs (red/blue/green) you could connect your ES10 to your capture card using those instead of s-video.

You might also want to look over the recommended ES10 settings posted on this thread: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...15-DMR-ES25%29

Any questions/problems just ask! Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-31-2023, 10:42 AM
badonica badonica is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xhumeka View Post
Yes, you have it right. You will need 2 S-Video cables, and 4 RCA/composite cables (Red/White audio).

JVS Player
OUT
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

ES10 (assuming using line 1 input on rear, select INPUT on your remote and change to Input 1 (INI1))
INPUT 1 (connect cables from your JVS)
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

OUTPUT (to your capture device - assuming it has S-Video Inputs)
S-Video
RCA Left/Mono Audio (white) connector
RCA Right Audio (red) connector

If your capture card has only component inputs (red/blue/green) you could connect your ES10 to your capture card using those instead of s-video.

You might also want to look over the recommended ES10 settings posted on this thread: https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...15-DMR-ES25%29

Any questions/problems just ask! Cheers.
Thanks for the quick reply - very helpful
Does the ES10 generate a Pr, Y, and Pb on output if the input was by way of s- video connection?

Thanks Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-31-2023, 10:53 AM
Xhumeka Xhumeka is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Posts: 34
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badonica View Post
Does the ES10 generate a Pr, Y, and Pb on output if the input was by way of s- video connection?
I believe so yes, although I have never been able to test since I do not have a component capture card/monitor. Give it a shot, and let us know!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-31-2023, 10:56 AM
badonica badonica is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xhumeka View Post
I believe so yes, although I have never been able to test since I do not have a component capture card/monitor. Give it a shot, and let us know!
Thanks - “Every days a school day “
Building up the equipment slowly - getting closer

Thanks Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-31-2023, 11:01 AM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,683
Thanked 449 Times in 385 Posts
The PAL Panasonics do at least (would assume the US models do too but don't have any way to test). The signal is going to go via (digital) component whatever input/output is used. Some later US panasonics (and very late PAL panasonics) only output deinterlaced progressive scan over component as far as I know which you would want to avoid so in those cases S-Video is preferable.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-31-2023, 12:04 PM
badonica badonica is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 26
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgey View Post
The PAL Panasonics do at least (would assume the US models do too but don't have any way to test). The signal is going to go via (digital) component whatever input/output is used. Some later US panasonics (and very late PAL panasonics) only output deinterlaced progressive scan over component as far as I know which you would want to avoid so in those cases S-Video is preferable.
Thanks for the extra clarification

Kind Regards Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will DMR-ES10 benefit my workflow? travvytrain Project Planning, Workflows 1 02-12-2023 07:59 AM
Workflow with DMR-ES10, JVC S-VHS, no TBC? Ninja99 Project Planning, Workflows 1 12-22-2021 09:36 AM
S-VHS VCR with TBC vs. S-VHS VCR without TBC to ES10/15? ShredBraahh Capture, Record, Transfer 1 03-24-2021 03:09 AM
DVK-100 and ES10 workflow setup and configuration? tcirre93 Project Planning, Workflows 1 06-12-2020 10:06 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM