11-01-2007, 02:08 AM
Premium Member

Hi, I'm very happy to have found your forum.

I am working on my first family photo slide-show, and I would like to burn it to DVD for watching on a regular television DVD player when completed.

My computer system is a Dell Dimension 8300 from 2004:
  • Pentium 4, 3.2GHz
  • Windows XP Pro
  • 1 GB RAM (2 x 512, two open slots)
  • 120 GB Hard Drive (30GB free/available)
  • ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 video card
  • Internal CD-burner
  • Internal DVD player (not a burner)
  • NEC 20WMGX2 widescreen monitor
  • Epson 4990 Photo Scanner
I am currently learning to use the trial version of "Memories on TV" slide-show software. I have downloaded the trial version of Sony Vegas Studio 8 Platinum Edition, but I have not installed or tried it yet.

I have never tried to do anything like this before, I realize this is kid-stuff for most people but this is my first time.

I will want to add video from home VHS movies to future slide-shows, but this first one is time-sensitive (I'm in a hurry!) and I have enough learning to do just to get a slide-show together in a timely fashion without complicating things further by adding video at the moment.

If there is better slide-show software available, what do you recommend?

IIRC, you recommend a Pioneer DVD-burner, but I think the post I read was from a year or more ago. What's your latest recommendation?

I'm not very comfortable with connecting things inside the computer box, but I can probably do it if it's not too complicated. I'm guessing an internal DVD-burner is the way to go, but I would consider an external DVD-burner if the quality and performance is comparable (I can handle plugging in a USB or Firewire cord with a high degree of confidence ).